It’s 4:45pm & my kids are still in their PJs

I’m sitting here at the table with a cup of tea. My boys just got up from their nap time & quiet time. We’re giggling off and on because a storm just rolled in and our windows were open. I asked Jack to crank the window closed and right then the wind and rain came down so hard that he got soaked and the screen flew out of the window. He just laughed and laughed. I ran to close the window over our sink but the fan sitting in it was spraying me with so much water that I could barely see. Now, only 5 minutes later, the sun is shining and the birds are chirping. Oh, little adventures.

Earlier today, I was adding a few knots to some of my front sections of hair that haven’t quite dreaded up yet, and Forrest wanted to “help.” He sat on my lap and just twisted my hair all around. It felt good. It’s something you kind of give up when you have dreads – there aren’t a lot of people who understand how clean dreadlocks can be, and so, there are few people who will just play with your hair for fun. Except your little kids. You can count on them for sure.

Do you ever have that feeling that nobody really gets you? It sounds narcissistic when I say it like that, but I mean it innocently. I think I feel that way because I have forgotten how to share myself. I mean, it’s so easy to share half-versions of ourselves on blogs or Facebook or whatever, but what about the full versions in real life? I’m sure that not everyone struggles with this. But I am a stay-at-home mama (who loves what she does) and I don’t get out a lot because there are so many blessings to tend to here within these walls. I would like to see myself open up so that people can get me. Because I’m pretty sure that’s the key here.

Anyway…time to get my kids dressed. (Yes, it’s 4:45pm.)

1 Comment

Filed under Forrest, Jack, laughter is good, tea-timing

One response to “It’s 4:45pm & my kids are still in their PJs

  1. So happy to see you back a’ bloggin.’ Reading your posts is always a treat. xo

Leave a Reply

