Fingers in the Fibers

the blanket I recently crocheted for my new little niece

I’ve developed this problem with, errrr, deep appreciation for crocheting. I’ve always loved it, but these days I can’t seem to keep my fingers from it for longer than a couple of days at a time. I have a very strong desire to truly learn to knit (I only know how to cast on, do the knit stitch and cast off), but right now, I’m good at crocheting and it feeds my artistic need.

I honestly think knitting and crocheting are such a gift to us artsy mamas – they enable us to express creativity without taking up a lot of space or requiring time away from our little ones, the projects are totally portable, and when mastered, they can provide for many needs within our homes.

(Need a blanket? Check. Need a scarf? Check. Need a headband to match that shirt? Check. Need a beanie? Check. Need a washcloth? Check. The list goes on!)

The point is, I love it. I love it, I love it, I love it. I just discovered my local (as in 5 minutes down the road!) yarn shop and it swept me off my feet. I finally have hope for learning to knit because there are so many nice ladies there and the basic knitting class is only $20!

I suppose everyone has at least a vague vision of how they see themselves when they’re old. My vision of my older self includes knitting, and lots of tea (among plenty of other things, of course). So, I think I might be spending $20 in the near future because I have a future image to uphold. 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under creating things, on being a mama

5 responses to “Fingers in the Fibers

  1. Grammie

    It’s beautiful!!! Hope knitting comes as easily….I only knitted a pair of booties and a sweater and never anything else….so hope you get to take a class…have lots of fun….
    Love ya bunches,

  2. Love your blanket! I want to start crocheting again for real. I’d love to make a hat. Maybe I should find myself a little yarn and get the book off the shelf. I wish we had a yarn store nearby. I haven’t noticed much wool yarn available around here, and that’s what I’d really like. Natural fibers seem to be more pleasant to work with and wear.

  3. Eileen

    All three of my grown kids have posted something about my crocheting when they were little.. think it gives a sense of “security” & “place” for all.. some of my most wonderful memories are of Mom with either the needle stitching or the wonderful embroidery that she did.. right now I am sleeping under the bedspread that she did later in her life & I feel so, so safe under that sweet spread…

  4. Love the blanket. I want to learn to knit, too. I’ve tried teaching myself several times and just never could figure it out. 😦 I need to find someone to show me.

  5. Stephanie

    That blanket is so adorable!! I’ve tried to learn to knit, too, but I never have anyone around close enough to help me when I get stuck. It’s a good thing I can’t or I’d probably never stop making little beanies for my baby girls! I ordered some when I was pregnant and they said “infant” but they are still way too big. I have a feeling knitting would be really addictive if I could get good at it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

