The beauty where it lies

I’ve spent many, many hours of my life wishing for something more than what I already have.

It’s that all-too-common thought process, I’m so thankful for the blessings in my life…but I would be so, so thankful if…

You know what I mean?

There’s always more. Or, rather, I thought there was more.

And now, I’m realizing…there may be more one day, but right now, I just want this.

I want this skinny little house in the city. I want to live in so small a space that I can never escape my family because why should I escape? I want to be a one-car family. I want to be at peace with being at home 90% of the time. I want to live on a small food budget. I want to stretch myself to become more creative with minimal ingredients because it’s simple and it’s fun. I want to spend most of my energy on chasing my boys around and nursing Forrest and cooking and cleaning. I want to stay up late and enjoy my husband and giggle when I wake up in the morning so exhausted that I can barely see straight, but oh coffee and then I wash my face with cold water and get ready to do it again!

I want this. I want this because this is what I was given. And it’s only my fault if I don’t choose to see the beauty where it truly lies: in the ordinary, in the everyday, in the plain, and in the simple.

My life. Beautiful. Right now. Not more – not yet. Just…right now.

2 Comments

Filed under tea-timing

2 responses to “The beauty where it lies

  1. Ashley

    Um… so I was thinking just this the other day. Then I heard this song by Caedmon’s Call. Have you heard of it?

    Sacred

    This house is a good mess it’s the proof of life
    No way would I trade jobs but I don’t pay overtime
    I’ll get to the laundry I don’t know when
    I’m saying a prayer tonight cause tomorrow it starts again

    Could it be that everything is sacred
    And all this time
    Everything I’ve dreamed of has been right before my eyes

    The children are sleeping but they’re running through my mind
    The sun makes them happy and the music makes them unwind
    My cup runneth over, I worry about the stain
    Teach me to run to you like they run to me for every little thing

    Cause everything is sacred
    And all this time
    Everything I’ve dreamed of has been right before my eyes

    When I forget to drink from you I can feel the banks harden
    Lord make me like a stream to feed the garden

    Wake up little sleeper
    The Lord God Almighty
    Made your mama keeper
    So rise and shine, rise and shine, rise and shine

    Cause everything is sacred
    And all this time
    Everything I’ve dreamed of has been right before my eyes

Leave a Reply

