Ketchup

My blogging crisis has lasted much longer than I anticipated. The best way to explain it? As time has passed, I’ve begun to realize how little I know. The more I’ve come to accept this, the less I’ve wanted to say. I understand, now, that I do indeed have a lot of worthwhile things to say. But, instead of presenting my way as the only way*, I feel free to observe from my point of view without feeling the need to convince others to choose my viewpoint also.

*In regards to Christianity, I’ve come to realize that the surest way of displaying the heart of Jesus is through my actions – attempting to convert someone is pointless when my life does not emulate the One I choose to follow. So I act out my faith, and use words when necessary.

I still want to talk. About food. About my heart. About my family and the things we learn together. I’m just trying to get my head around the “how” and the “what” part of the things I share here in my space.

Anyway, I wanted to give a little update, considering how much time has passed since I last wrote.

My dreads are maturing quite nicely – they’re about 2.5 months old now and most of the time, I absolutely love them. We have our off days, but they really don’t deter me. I love my locks. I just do.

Here are some photos of how they look right now:

And, as you can probably see from the above photos, we went on vacation! My mom turns 50 this June, and her wish was to have her kids, kids-in-law and grandkids all in one place – in one of her favorite locations! So, we all reunited in Hawaii, on Oahu, for a week. It was lovely. We got back a couple of days ago, and we’re still battling jetlag with all the strength we have. So far, jetlag is winning. Big time.

Here’s my favorite photo from our trip:

As for the boys, they are doing really well. Forrest has begun to coast around furniture, and he currently has 6 teeth (going on 7). Jack is learning so much, but his favorite things to talk about are letters and numbers. Seriously.

Here are some great shots of them:

(That’s my brother, Sam.)

By the way, all these photos (except for the one of me kissing Forrest, which was taken by my mom with my iPhone, and the one he’s in) were taken by my sweet brother with his awesome new camera. I have serious camera envy.

Also of fairly high importance: we moved into our new apartment right before we left for Hawaii! We really, really love it. I don’t want to share too many details about the location, but you can be sure I’ll be posting photos of the inside. We’ve got some fun vintage furniture and I can’t help but share its glory!

Anyway, now Forrest is nursing, which is making it a bit complicated to type, so I’ll wrap it on up! 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under Forrest, Jack, my delightful husband, photographs, tea-timing, things we celebrate

7 responses to “Ketchup

  1. I just LOVE your new header. It’s awesome. Also, I like what you said about acting out your faith. It puts into words so nicely the whole issue of why cornering people and preaching at them is so rarely effective. Christians need to lead by example–and that can be hard.

  2. Have missed you!
    Love the photos, especially the family one! Your dreads are looking incredible. I have serious issues w/ my hair, and your pictures are making me want to go with dreads.
    Take your time, we’ll be here when you’re ready 🙂

  3. amy

    Nice to see you!!! You are so making me want dreads!

  4. mamarissa

    Jenny – thanks! I’ve been mulling over the concept for quite some time now…!

    Corinne – I’ve missed you too! I’ve really cut back on blog reading (along with writing) but I’m hoping to get back into the swing of things soon. Can’t wait to catch up on your life. About the dreads – thank you, and if you want them, you should get them! Maybe we can do an east coast meet up one day…and I’ll do your dreads for you 🙂 Tehe!

    Amy – like I said to Corinne – you should get them! 🙂

  5. Grammie

    I for one have missed your words….they always bring a smile as I am hearing and watching you love your life right where you are. Every picture shows the love you have for those precious little boys who are so secure in that love with smiles and curious looks of the wonder of all you are sharing of your world with them. Yes, your hair just gets cuter but then so do you, as aging if you can say that in your 20s does also. Love ya bunches…

  6. So glad to read your update and see you back in the blogging world. 🙂 Can’t believe how much the kids have changed in a few short weeks. That’s life, I guess. Just a vapor.

Leave a Reply

