Break-ish

Forgive me for my unannounced absence. I needed a break. I still feel break-ish, but I also feel the need to clarify that I’m all right. I’m just not putting my blog anywhere near the top of my priority list right now.

I guess I’m mulling a few things over. I got another case of the why do I blog? and I keep thinking that it’s important to be careful, lest I begin to feel like I owe information about my life to any readers I may have. I mean…I like to share. But it’s easy to be controlled by an unwelcomed need to share…like, some kind of weird dependency. I don’t like the sound of that. I want to feel like I can wake up late one day, or tattoo my face, or wear flip-flops in 50-degree weather without having an intense inclination to share every little detail on my blog. Does anyone understand what I mean? (Also, just kidding about tattooing my face.)

Anyway. We’ll see what I decide about all that fluff.

How are you doing?

8 Comments

Filed under tea-timing

8 responses to “Break-ish

  1. I don’t really get what you mean, but I am 37 weeks pregnant and my brain isn’t 100%.

    I just wanted to comment that I just started reading your blog and find it interesting so far!! I have two boys 18 months apart, and a little girl on the way!

  2. I took a break recently and came back to blog about how I wouldn’t be blogging as much, but after that I felt like writing again (and taking pictures). I realized that blogging, for me, is about 50% therapeutic expressive writing, 40% online baby book/pictures for relatives, and 10% or less blogging for the sake of blogging. I enjoy looking back to see what my family was doing a year ago and what I was feeling during particular stages of motherhood. I know I can’t blog for others, at least not reliably. Doing frequent reviews and regular ongoing themes or carnivals puts too much pressure on me. So I kind of get what you’re saying. Glad you’re doing okay! We are just coming out of a difficult stage with Ivey, and hopefully the warmer weather and getting outside more will help all of us parents.

  3. Glad to hear all is well. I’ve not taken a true break, but with the beginning of pregnancy came a lessening of blog importance. I am slowly making my way back!

  4. I COMPLETELY understand. To a point where it’s not even funny.
    Was just thinking of you yesterday actually! Hoping all is ok and well.

  5. Grammie

    fully understand….so when I want to know what’s going on in your life I’ll text or email or better yet call….so expect a call tonight….;o) Love ya bunches

  6. Elizabeth

    I totally understand you needing to take a blogging break. I enjoy reading your blog but I know you do have a life, a husband and children who are your first priority. That is good you are being wise in what you want to share on your blog.

    There are some blogs that I read that I think put way too much personal family stuff on there that I feel should be private, not for the internet. I don’t think some of those people think about when their spouse or children who may read what their mom or dad wrote on the blog, could be really embarrassing talking about them in a negative way or stuff that doesn’t really belong in a public blog, or even twitter, facebook and myspace.

    Something else to think about. There are some people on blogs who will not post pictures of their children for safety reasons. Apparently, there are people who will lift pictures of children on these blogs, etc. I don’t know how that is done for I have never done that and I wouldn’t do that. If I knew the person and I wanted a copy of a picture there, I would ask for a copy they can send me.

    I know even for myself, it is easy to get drawn to the internet too much and not get things done. There is a life out there that is more important than the computer.

    Enjoy your time with your husband, children, friends, and family. You won’t break my heart if you decide not to blog anymore. Spending time with your family and friends in person is more important.

  7. Corrie

    I understand that blogging can become a burden, and that it can be hard to find the right balance with it, and not have the wrong motives.
    That said, I do really enjoy the insight you offer, and I feel encouraged by your blog. I like to hear how other Christian moms negotiate this life, and I really like reading about food! I always look forward to your blog and missed it!

  8. I know how you feel, sometimes I wonder how long I will do this for! I know that as of right now I do it because it’s a baby book and I’ve met a lot of great people.

Leave a Reply

