10-month love

Forrest is light. He is sweetness and strength and since the day he was born, he’s seemed old. You know?

He is a funny boy and he knows exactly how to make us laugh. His go-to joke is to scrunch his face up when we talk to him. Without fail, we exclaim that it must be the cutest thing we’ve ever seen.

He still breastfeeds every 2 to 3 hours during the day and 2 to 3 times at night. It’s wonderful. He is a quick and efficient nurser, although he does get fussy at night because he’s not very patient when he’s half-asleep. 🙂 I can tell that he likes his space while he sleeps, which is a lot like his older brother. I plan to cosleep with him until he’s at least a year old, and then I’ll give him the opportunity to sleep on his own mattress. In our family, we like arrange ourselves so that everyone gets the best sleep possible – so we’ll see if Forrest prefers his own bed in a few months.

I have given Forrest tastes of food here and there, but he still doesn’t eat anything on a regular basis. For about a week, he was eating lightly cooked egg yolks sprinkled with unrefined sea salt. At the end of that week, though, he yelled at me when I offered him his yolk, and he hasn’t eaten anything since. I’m okay with that!

Speaking of yelling, that’s one of the things he does best. And he doesn’t really holler, per se – it’s more like screeching. And it hurts my ears.

He still doesn’t crawl. He does, however, roll to everything he wants. He’s a fairly agile roller, but he’s been rocking on his hands and knees lately, so I imagine crawling is on the horizon. He’s also not very interested in sitting up for long periods of time. I don’t blame him – rolling is way more exciting.

When we go out, I almost always tuck him into the ring sling or the Ergo. He relaxes into me and watches his surroundings quietly. I can easily spend the entire day away from home because Forrest will contentedly nap while I wear him. This makes life so simple. What would I do without babywearing? (I’ll tell you: I’d be really sore, and cranky, too.)

He says “Mama,” “Daddddd,” and “Nuh!” or “Nuh-nuh-nuh-nuh-nuh!!!!” which usually seems to indicate hunger. 🙂 I’ve been signing “milk” to him each time before I nurse him, but he just smiles and turns into me. I think he knows what it means!

He’s still exclusively cloth-diapered. Our diapers of choice are our Smartipants – and let me tell you, his brightly-colored cloth-diapered bum is quite a sight for sore eyes. I’m not sure how it is that diapering can be so happy, but it is.

Lastly: his brother. He loves his brother. If he’s close enough, he lunges at Jack. He grabs him and puts his mouth all over him and squeals with delight. Jack isn’t always comfortable with Forrest’s rough play, but they do love to laugh together and I cannot express the joy that courses through me when I hear them laughing in unison. Pure bliss, I tell you.

These 10 months have flown by, and I know the following months will fly even faster.

And I’m going to love every moment.

I love every moment of you, Forrest.

3 Comments

Filed under on being a mama, photographs, things we celebrate

3 responses to “10-month love

  1. What a lovely post. You’ve made your love palpable even to us internet folk. Thank you for sharing the sweetness.

    (And, I hear you on the nursing through the night and still loving it! I am finally getting tired of it, here at 16 months, but it’s still an act I am glad to work not a chore. Now… go feed that baby!) 🙂

  2. Glad to hear you still love you Smartipants!!

  3. BUDDYYYYYY!!!!! He is so adorable. That last photo is my favorite.

Leave a Reply

