Unrelenting passion.

What is your unrelenting passion?

I was reading this blog post (love them, by the way!) and I was immediately struck by the photo of the fridge magnet printed with the above quote.

I didn’t even know what to think of it.

I mean, I could tell you what I’m quite passionate about – but unrelenting? I hadn’t even gone there. Unrelenting passion. That phrase just feels big and exciting and…passionate (I know, I know).

It was really throwing me for a loop over the last several days. I kept thinking, I want to be unrelentingly passionate. And really? Shouldn’t I just be unrelentingly passionate about living and breathing and loving and helping and seeking?

And I am. It’s funny how it’s so easy to stuff something up inside you because it seems so unspecific. I felt like if I was going to have an unrelenting passion, it must have some kind of label, like “food” or “mothering” or “writing.” But it doesn’t. It’s just everything. Life. Living with passion. Cooking and mothering and writing with unrelenting passion.

I was going to say I’m sorry for being so darn introspective these days, but I changed my mind. I’m not sorry. 🙂

So tell me – what do you think about that phrase? What is your unrelenting passion?

2 Comments

Filed under tea-timing

2 responses to “Unrelenting passion.

  1. Lindsey

    Great thoughts. What am I unrelenting passionate about? Good question. I am with you on this one. And it’s something that I feel like the Lord has been really pressing on my heart over the last week. Especially during this Lenten season. I need to unrelenting passionate about life. About where I am. Not where I long to be. Not about something in the future. It needs to be NOW. Present. We (collectively) need to be passionate about everything we have. Searching for Him. Unrelenting passionate about where He has placed us. So we don’t miss out on what He is trying to teach us, show us, change us…etc. I don’t want to miss out on the ways He is showing me that He loves me. Through my husband. Through Eli and Noah. Through His Word. It’s a process. One that is requiring me to live in today. Unrelenting passion is something that I want to be said about me when I pass on to be with Jesus. “That Lindsey Burke, she had unrelenting passion about living. About Jesus. About her husband. About her children.” Thank you Rissa for always nudging me to think. To search my heart. God uses you and you don’t even know it! Thank you for listening and feeling the nudges in your heart to write. It inspires more than you know. Thank you for being a vessel. (Gosh, I feel all ooey gooey right now!) XOXO

  2. I knew before I clicked over that it would be that post!! I saw that the other day and LOVED that line. LOVED it.

Leave a Reply

