This is my life.

It’s easy to feel like my days just bleed into one another. And it’s equally as easy to begin to dismiss the monotonous, underwhelming hours that pass.

The problem is – when I do that, I lose something precious. I lose special moments of my boys’ lives when I forget that every single minute is a blessing to be counted. Oh, how could I forget?

My days may be so similar that I don’t know if its Tuesday or Friday, but look at what I’m doing! This being present, this board book-reading, this cheek-kissing, this nursing, this tickling and this holding – this is what lays the foundation of love in the lives of my boys. They need me, and isn’t that incredibly beautiful? Who cares if it’s Tuesday or Friday?

I was watching my little Forrest pull himself up on his hands and knees this afternoon. I was struck with the realization that I simply cannot wish another single moment away. No matter where (or with whom!) I’m living, no matter how much money I (don’t) have, and whether or not I’ve a car, or a farmhouse, or nice clothes or a recent haircut or if my legs are shaved. These moments, every one of them, are precious and God-given and I’ll never get them back. How can I do anything but rejoice in each tick of the clock?

Our family of four is experiencing so much transition right now. I don’t always like transitional seasons and adjusting to living with my in-laws has not been easy. But what am I doing to aid in the full absorption of lessons learned? How can I lend to peace within this home? How can I set these people at ease? In what ways can I use my talent to serve, to uplift, to nurture, to inspire, to encourage?

I know the answers to these questions. Most importantly, I know that I can pretty much guarantee that I won’t accomplish any of it if I’m wishing this time away. My boys will be that much older and those lessons will go unlearned.

Right here, right now, I choose to be involved. I will involve myself in the minutes that pass and I will not ask them to scoot on by so that I can get on with my life, whatever that means. This is my life.

This is my life.

2 Comments

Filed under Forrest, on being a mama, tea-timing

2 responses to “This is my life.

  1. Thanks, Rissa, for sharing your thoughts. I’m so with you RIGHT NOW. Why do I strive after empty pursuits? Even if I wouldn’t call it that out loud? I see myself getting frustrated at things that really don’t matter. This is my life and this is the way it is going because this is the way the Lord wants it to go.

    *Sigh*

    Truly, thank you for sharing.

  2. Going through a bit of a trial myself and find myself wishing the days would hurry by so we could reach a new stage. Thanks for your words of reminder.

    I’m looking for inspiration for my blog right now…stop by and chime in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

