Diving In

Well, folks, let’s do this then! I’m just gonna go ahead and dive right into it…

Now, I am painfully aware of the controversy of blogging about faith and specific beliefs. Inevitably, it always sounds close-minded because, well, it kind of is. If I choose to believe in Jesus as the true Son of God and Savior of the world, then that obviously means I don’t believe in other things.

Be that as it may, this is my blog and if my faith offends someone, they can simply choose not to read my posts. 🙂

For the rest of you who are interested, I thought I’d clue you in on some recent developments concerning our Christianity.

Yes, we’re still Christians, and actually, just thinking about the whole process and how we got here is a little overwhelming, and I’m kind of intimidated to jump into it. One step at a time, I suppose.

Starting at the very beginning, let me just say that we’ve been wrestling through a lot of issues in the last several years. Our questions and concerns have kept us from really rooting ourselves in a specific church for far too long. A lot of it had to do with our personal discomfort and preferences. I like the worship here, but the pastor is BOR-ING. Or, The pastor at that church is such a great speaker but the lead guitar player for Sunday night service? Totally hate his solos. In addition to very selfish and silly reasons like that, we also had this niggling feeling in the pit of our stomachs: Is this it? Is this how it’s meant to be? Has it always been like this? Is it really supposed to be about what I like, anyway?

Those thoughts are only the initial reasons we began searching, and thus, ended up at the Orthodox Church.

In some ways, I wish we would have acted on our concerns much sooner. By the same token, I am so grateful we didn’t officially begin our “investigation” until after we moved because this season has been such a slow, intentional, thoughtful time for us and it just fits with what we mentally and spiritually chose to dive into. Does that make sense?

Because I am hesitant to try to explain Orthodox Christianity with my own words (undoubtedly, I’d do a poor job), I figure I’ll just supply some links to satisfy any curiosity.

What does Orthodox mean?

What on Earth is the Orthodox Faith?

First Visit to an Orthodox Church: 12 Things I Wish I’d Known

The articles above are some of many of that I read through as we prepared ourselves to attend our first Orthodox Church service several months ago. Of course, even after reading what seemed like hundreds of articles to prepare ourselves, we still didn’t really know what we were getting ourselves into. We fell in love with the Church in a whole new way, and we’ve been attending ever since then (and are in the process of converting).

Surely I’ll write more on this whole topic, but I’ll leave it at that for now. 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under orthodoxy

4 responses to “Diving In

  1. Exciting. Although my husband and I and our families are non-denominational, charismatic, no real box people, my dad has been very interested in Orthodoxy for years. He occasionally throws a little liturgy into the church service to shake people up!! I can really see some great benefits of the Orthodox church and it’s ways. I know what you mean about wondering if it’s about what you like. I don’t always like my church, but we know we are called there, and so there’s a peace.

  2. I know next to nothing about the Orthodox Church and found those articles very interesting. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Lindsey

    Awesome! Our best friends were looking into this too. There is a church here, yes, here where we live, that apparently our friend had been listening to the mans sermons long before we moved here. I’m happy that you guys found a wonderful fit for your family 🙂 How interesting-I read the articles! Can’t wait to hear more about it! How does Jack do in the services? I know they don’t have childcare…at least that is what my BF told me. Anyways. Love to hear more about it when you feel like writing.
    (Side note: Have people said something about you talking about lovin’ Jesus?! I didn’t know people really did that! Insane. In a world of people spouting “freedom of…” EVERYTHING it amazes me at what “offends” people!)

  4. Very interesting! So, how did you decide to “check it out” in the first place? How is it going so far? Do the kids stay with you during the service?

Leave a Reply

