8.

Time has been passing by so quickly. I’d definitely call this one of the most difficult seasons of my life, but it’s been a whirlwind. If I focus on the season as a whole, it’s like watching paint dry. But really? I keep looking back and thinking, “Well,ย that happened fast!”

Like today. My baby is eight months old. And two days ago? My other baby “turned” ย two-and-a-half years old. I still cannot believe it. Every day I can’t believe it. Where does the time go?

For the sake of documenting, I wanted to make note of a few (incredibly cute) things Forrest is doing with his eight-month-old self.

– He actually calls me “Mama.” Sometimes it’s a long string of “Mamamamamamama!” and other times, it’s just a simple “Mama.” I love, love, love it.

– He has one adorable little tooth. I can’t tell if the other one will pop up anytime soon, but honestly, I don’t mind waiting because this kid does not teethe well.

– He’s really, really grabby. I have to be so careful whenever I sit down/go near a countertop/all the time because he’s fast. He will snatch something up so quick that I’ll be totally unaware until I look at him and realize he’s gnawing on a glass plate. (Just kidding. But seriously. He’s fast.)

– He loves his brother. If Jack so much as smiles at him, Forrest cannot contain his excitement. He bounces up and down, squeals, and beams right back. People, this melts my heart.

– He can sit up now, but I still keep pillows around him (or I sit behind him) to make sure he doesn’t get hurt. He has a tendency to lunge himself toward a toy he can’t reach. I realize that this is a natural thing to do as he learns to crawl, but still, the lunging is a little scary. ๐Ÿ™‚ Today, he sat on his own and played with some toys for an hour. It was amazing!

– He still doesn’t eat solid food, and I don’t really have plans to start him any time soon. Or rather, I should say that I plan to start him whenever he sincerely seems ready (grabbing at food doesn’t necessarily mean he’s ready). He’s eaten sweet potatoes and bananas several different times, but he doesn’t really seem to care one way or another, and he nurses allthetime. So I’m cool with it!

– He prefers to be held by me. I love that, of course, but sometimes I do kinda sorta wish he’d be just as happy with his daddy so that I could catch a little break. Usually he’ll allow someone else to hold him if I’m not within his sight. If he sees me, though, it’s ovah. Oh well. I’ll soak it up while I can.

I’m sure he does a lot of other noteworthy things but at the moment, it’s hard to focus because MY THROAT HURTS AGAIN. Yeah. We’re on the mend, but there’s some lingering sickness and I’m just so done. Why won’t it go away?

I want to talk a little bit about Jack soon, too, but that will have to wait. I think I can hear my bed calling to me…

4 Comments

Filed under Forrest, Jack, on being a mama

4 responses to “8.

  1. Seeing Suzi and Ivey interacting is one of my favorite things, too. They giggle and squeal back and forth in their own little language. We’re not planning to rush solids either–breastfeeding is just way too easy and effective!

    It reminded me of your comments about the unfriendly ER nurse when earlier my husband mentioned to my MIL that Ivey has not had any vaccinations. She said it was “not a smart decision” to forgo vaccinations and that it could “leave her open to all sorts of diseases like smallpox, which is on the rise.” I luckily wasn’t in the room, but I heard it all and I was proud of Jordan for politely shutting down the conversation.

  2. This sounds SO much like Noah! Except that he WHINES for food now. He was ambivalent for a while so I didn’t push it. Then it seemed to change OVERNIGHT!

    He, too, is in LOVE with his bro. I mean, seriously? He gets whacked on the head, recovers and SMILES and lunges himself towards Gabriel. Brotherly love, I tell ya. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And he ONLYWANTSME! If Ben is holding him and I walk in the room it goes something like this… uh..uh…uh UHUHUHUHUH!!!!!! And he yells until I get him. And no, he’s not saying “mama” yet so he yells ๐Ÿ™‚

    These two should definitely meet. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. So sweet. Glad you are feeling a bit better. We seem to have the never-ending cold. It hit us one at a time and then started over. Made it seem like it was going to last forever, but I think we are all getting better now. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. missed this while in the hospital.

    i LOVE that age. so sweet and fun. i, too, adore watching the babies adore their older siblings. bianca flaps her arms when she see them and clayton bops up and down. so wonderful to enjoy them together.

    hope you feel 100% very soon!

Leave a Reply

