In the Meantime

If I tried, I could find something to feel discouraged about at any given moment.

The point, though, is that I’m to keep my eyes open for any opportunity to be grateful. While discouragement tries to wield its way into my heart almost constantly, the only weapon I have against it is being mindful of what I do have. I will never progress toward anything when all I can think about is what I’m lacking.

Although it seems like every day, I’m pleading for strength to push through, and each night, I’m thanking God for the fact that I’ve made it to the end of that day, I can still find plenty to smile about. I can still get the warm fuzzies when I watch my boys interact. I can still laugh at my husband’s outlandish humor and find comfort in his embrace. And I can rest in the security of a roof over my head, food to eat, and clothes to wear.

Perhaps this is what we need after all. We don’t have much to call our own and we don’t know much about what’s in store for our future. But that could be the very thing that sets us right. It could be the very thing that prepares us for whatever is to come.

In the meantime, gratefulness – gratefulness is our weapon.

4 Comments

Filed under Forrest, photographs, tea-timing

4 responses to “In the Meantime

  1. Yes, sometimes purposing to be grateful lights the true grateful spark of our soul!

  2. crnnoel

    Oh I love this. Thank you.

  3. Lindsey

    Amen to that 🙂

Leave a Reply

