In Which I Share a Homemade Toothpaste Recipe

Several weeks ago, Ryan and I went downtown to check out our local food co-op. While at the checkout stand, I just so happened to notice a magazine that was practically screaming for me to buy it – MaryJanesFarm: the Everyday Organic Lifestyle magazine. I don’t want to tell you too much about it because I really hope you’ll go buy one yourself {or better yet, subscribe!} but I want to share something I found in the particular issue I picked up that day.

In the Home Safe Home section under Personal Care, there is a fun little recipe for homemade toothpaste:

“Sarah from Minnesota submitted it and she says, ‘I’ve been using the following recipe for homemade toothpaste for over six month now, and I love it. So easy to mix up, very effective, and there’s not a harmful chemical in sight.’

The recipe is as follows:

1/2 cup baking soda
1/4 cup hydrogen peroxide {you can add more or less, depending on the consistency you like}
1-3 drops peppermint essential oil
1-2 drops tea tree oil

If you want a smoother feel, you can add vegetable glycerin, and for a sweeter taste, you can add powdered stevia. It may take a little getting used to, but it’s so cheap and easy, and it allows you to avoid the fluoride and additives found in conventional toothpastes.”

I just mixed up our first double-batch last night and it was a great success. While the texture is definitely different that your average toothpaste, it reminds me a lot of the Tom’s of Maine or Trader Joe’s brands. My mouth feels clean and fresh after brushing, and the toothpaste is stored easily in a mason jar {along with a spoon, for stirring} on the bathroom counter.

Let me know if you try it, too!

{Full disclosure: I’m writing about MaryJanesFarm purely and simply because I love the magazine – I was not compensated in any way!}

5 Comments

Filed under homemaking

5 responses to “In Which I Share a Homemade Toothpaste Recipe

  1. Stephanie

    Excited to try this! Thanks!

  2. crnnoel

    I never would have thought to try, but now I might just have too!

  3. Janine

    I have used one that doesn’t have hydrogen peroxide in it on and off before. It has the stevia in it. I love it, have just run out, and have to use yucky store bought toothpaste.
    Found it really great, as it doesn’t foam, and during the first trimester of pregnancy, when gagging was a little sensitive, it was the best thing

  4. Lindsey

    fluoride. Tell me if this is a ridiculous question, and I guess I could google it…why is it bad for you if you don’t ingest it? We are on well water (which tastes amazing) and there is NOTHING in the water. PURE from the earth goodness. Anyways, our doctor here prescribed a multi-vitamin with fluoride in it for my boys since they can’t use “real” toothpaste yet. He said something about with the absence of fluoride…oh gosh, now I can’t remember it was a few months ago. Anyways. Give me the info you have about it…if you would be so kind!
    XOXO-
    Linds

  5. I’m going to try this sometime – don’t know when but I’ve bookmarked it! Thanks for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

