Refined

If you read my post on the cookies I made with Jack last week, you know that I have been trying to steer clear of {refined} flour and sugar. In addition to that, I’m trying to get a handle on my sweet tooth {I don’t constantly crave sweets, but when I do, I go overboard}.

In an effort to really do this, for real, I have decided that I’m officially not going to consume any refined flour or sugar starting right now, and I’m also not going to eat anything sweetened over the holidays.

To be perfectly clear, I’m not trying to lose weight. I mean, I’d like to get back down to my pre-pregnancy size, but weight loss isn’t the only reason I want to do this. I want to be healthy. I want to take care of this body I’ve been given, and I want to do what I can to live a full and happy life. I want to be around to meet my grandchildren and I don’t want to be a sickly burden on my kids. I know that the food I consume makes a huge difference in this, and I feel completely responsible to monitor every little thing I consume.

I know that many people operate along the lines of “everything in moderation,” but personally, I see several holes in that statement. First of all, if something {say, refined sugar, or cigarettes} has a negative effect on my body, then even in moderation, it’s not good for me. If something {say, wine, or fruit} can be good for me in small amounts, then I see no problem with consuming these things in moderation. My hope is that everything I consume is beneficial to my body. Refined flour is never good for me. Refined sugar is never good for me. As far as I can tell, there’s no way around that.

To be fair, I have been aware of this information for a long time now, and I’m only just now officially living it out. I don’t expect everyone to jump on the wagon with me, especially considering that sugar has been found to be more addictive than cocaine. It’s hard. I’ve been fighting a battle with myself for weeks now – I’ve so desperately wanted to be free of the need for more sugar, but I always ended up just eating more and more and more. Finally I realized that I needed accountability so I told Ryan about my frustration and poor self-control. He agreed to hold me to the commitment {and is even committing to it with me!}, so here I am!

Also, in case you’re wondering, I don’t feel deprived. I feel happy and free. I feel like I have a challenge to pursue – how can I feed myself and my family well without these ingredients? I know it’s possible, and I’ve done it to some extent before. I want this to become a part of my lifestyle, and I’m thrilled that I’ve finally made a solid decision about it all.

And, naturally, I’ll be keeping you updated how it goes!

5 Comments

Filed under eating food

5 responses to “Refined

  1. Good for you! It’s hard but you can do it. There are a lot of good recipes in the blogosphere out there…I have several as links on my blog, if you’re interested.

    I must say, you are brave to tackle it at this time of year. I started my journey last January…after Thanksgiving and Christmas were over. I wish you success and peace!

  2. Janine

    WOW, good on you for doing this. I dont think I could.
    I read a blog a while ago about a woman who went sugar free for a year. And now continues without sugar. You may have read it but I will post the link just incase you haven’t.
    http://myyearwithout.blogspot.com/
    All the best on your journey. Let us know how it goes.

  3. crnnoel

    I’m really excited to hear about your journey with this. I have such awful self control when it comes to food, and have been thinking about {especially} refined sugar. I think I know myself enough to know that it’d have to be a change for the whole family, and that it’d have to wait until after the holidays to make it a lifestyle.
    Good luck! Can’t wait for more updates πŸ™‚

  4. ashleync

    So are you thinking of not doing carbohydrates, like bread? I’m the first to admit I don’t know a lot about going without sugar, thus stems my ignorant questions. I know that I could go without most of the sugar I consume but my understanding was that our bodies need sugar {not necessarily refined} for proper functioning, even if it is just something that breaks down into sugar. I do know that we as a nation consume more sugar than any other time period in history, so I guess you’re just talking about refined…

    I guess my question is, is something that breaks down into a sugar once digested considered to be refined? Are you staying away from all thing that break down into a sugar?

    Okay… sorry for the confusing comment. It’s late and my seven month old doesn’t sleep. πŸ™‚

  5. Wow! I admire your commitment. Don’t think I am quite ready for this one yet, though. I, too, go overboard when I get started. My dad used to be the same way. He was overweight and eventually, when I was in high school, found out he had type 2 diabetes. For years, he gave up sugar cold turkey because he was committed to his health and knew it was the only way he’d be able to resist eating way too much junk at once. Now he is able to enjoy treats occasionally and knows when to say when. I really admire him for it and I try to remember what happened to him when I am sitting behind a plate of cookies or whatever.

Leave a Reply

