‘Kay, Cookies!

The other day, I announced on Twitter that I would purpose myself to make the most of my day. Ever since Ryan began working full time, I have sort of gone between thoroughly enjoying myself and then catching myself wishing the day would hurry up and be over.

So, in an attempt to slow myself down, I decided to make cookies with Jack. It may surprise you that I’ve actually never made cookies with him before, but it’s the truth. Jack is a very independent kid and I don’t generally have to involve him in everything I do. However, he recently noticed his friend Gideon standing on a chair helping his mama prepare food in their kitchen, and ever since then, Jack has asked if he could pull up a chair and watch me work. I love it! I don’t really let him help a whole lot, but he’s usually just happy to stand there and look at everything.

This day was different, though. I guided his fingers to the switch on my KitchenAid and let him control the mixing speed {with my very attentive supervision, I might add}. He had a lot of fun, but was a little confused. Every once in a while, he would go over to his chair at the table and say, “‘Kay, cookies!” I don’t think he really understood {at first, anyway} that we actually had to make the cookies in order for there to even be cookies. Either way, it was really cute. The best part was when he kept stealing a finger full of batter when he thought I wasn’t looking. That’s my boy!

Anyway, I tweaked the ingredients in our cookie recipe a bit. In place of all-purpose flour, we used whole spelt flour and in place of both white and brown sugar, we used rapadura. I thought I’d share a little about these ingredients for those of you who aren’t sure what they are and why they matter!

First of all, whole spelt flour is a protein-rich variation of wheat that is usually easier to digest than common wheat. Many people with wheat sensitivities find that they can eat spelt flour without any disturbances. Most importantly {for me, anyway}, it can easily replace refined white all-purpose flour. There are many reasons to avoid refined white flour, but let me give you a couple of examples:

1. Flour is created by milling wheat berries. When wheat berries are milled for white all-purpose flour, both the germ and the bran are removed, leaving only the endosperm, which is the least nutrient-dense part of the berry as a whole. This means that the wheat berries are stripped of most nutritional content. The resulting refined carbohydrates prompt the body to create more insulin, which in turn causes the body to store more fat {as opposed to utilizing it for energy}.
2. Refined white flour is almost always bleached. You know, like what people do to whiten their clothes?
3. And finally, besides the fact that refined flour prompts overproduction of insulin and therefore, promotes fat storage, the chemicals used to refine flour contribute massively to the development of diabetes!

Now, onto rapadura.Β Rapadura is a deliciously unrefined natural sweetener. It is simply pure sugar cane juice {hardened and then ground up, of course}. It’s incredibly tasty, is very high in iron and can be used as an exact replacement for white sugar! I love using rapadura because I know that I’m not just consuming empty calories. Although I still think it’s important to closely monitor my intake of sugar {even natural sugar}, it’s nice to know that rapadura is there for when I want to make cookies, pie, cornbread, and anything else that requires a dry sweetener. Raw honey, pure maple syrup, raw agave nectar and stevia leaf are other great refined sugar substitutes, but be sure to check the measurement conversions before adjusting your recipes!

And there you have it. With these substitutes, we’ve enjoyed some great-tasting, nutrient-dense oatmeal cookies. Now all I have to worry about is making sure Jack doesn’t eat the entire plateful!

Oh, didn’t you hear? Jack is bald.

3 Comments

Filed under eating food

3 responses to “‘Kay, Cookies!

  1. Camille

    Thank you, thank you, thank you! Yep, you were blogging EXACTLY what I was asking you about! =)

  2. Pingback: Refined « Mama Rissa

  3. evyrenee

    Rissa, I miss ya! (My silly attempt at rhyming) I found some time to myself today and thought I would sit back and enjoy reading your mamarissa blog. Sounds crazy but I am so excited to hear about the substitutes for baking especially the sugar substitute, you’re incredible! Thank you for the descriptions, as you know I am clueless about this sort of thing. I can’t wait to make cookies now πŸ™‚ Sooooo, I know its the holidays but we really need to get together soon over Janice’s as… number one-I looooved getting to know you and want to continue to and number two- I am returning to work Jan 4th and will not have as much free time then 😦 But even when I am working I get out of school at 2:00pm so I will still be somewhat available, anyways I am babbling now but let’s try to work something out, ok? I also want to hear more about the Orthodox church. Hope you are blessed this week in everything you do! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

