Indian-Spiced Pinto Beans with Carrots and Shallots

Edited: Just in case you’re wondering, this recipe served 8 adults and 2 kids, although we all ate modest portions alongside chunks of cornbread.

Yesterday, I was reading about sprouting legumes and grains. Then I remembered that I had a small amount of uncooked lentils left over from a previous recipe, so I decided to sprout those. And then, I remembered that I have a 10lb bag of pinto beans in my dry goods bin. I want to try sprouting some of those, too, but yesterday, I just decided to boil up a big ol’ pot o’ beans for some kind of dinner {it was yet to be determined}.

Then I went online and found a great idea for a simple, frugal, healthy way to prepare pinto beans: Indian-spiced pinto beans with carrots and shallots. Yum.

I decided to make it because, whoa, I had every single thing I needed {all left over from previous meals we’d bought ingredients for}. However, I changed the original recipe, so read on to discover my version of this delicious meal.

Ingredients:

3 cups dried pinto beans, prepared ahead {if you don’t know how to boil pinto beans, go here}
3+ cups chicken broth/stock
1 tbsp olive oil & 1 tbsp butter
4 carrots, chopped
4 shallots, sliced
5 cloves of garlic, minced
3 tsp ground cumin
2 tsp ground cardamom
2 tsp turmeric
A healthy dash of red pepper flakes
A sprinkle of cayenne pepper
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Directions:

1. Melt butter and heat olive oil in a large pot {my dutch oven worked well, but a stock pot should work fine, too}. Saute shallots and garlic until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add carrots and continue to saute until carrots soften slightly and shallots are carmelized.

2. Mix in beans, most of their juices, and 3+ cups of chicken broth/stock {the amount really depends on your preference – I went for a thick, soupy texture}. Add cumin, cardamom, turmeric, red pepper flakes, cayenne, plenty of salt and freshly ground black pepper.

3. Bring to a gentle simmer, stirring occasionally for 15 minutes or until carrots are tender. Add more spices {or leave it as is} to taste. Serve in a bowl along side a big chunk of whole wheat cornbread sweetened with rapadura.

4. Find yourself completely satisfied by this simple meal and shocked by how easy and frugal it was. Then tell all your friends.

4 Comments

Filed under homemaking, making food

4 responses to “Indian-Spiced Pinto Beans with Carrots and Shallots

  1. Thank you for linking to my blog – the sprouting beans and grains posts. I just got done reading your “how we met” – the kids had to wait for lunch because I got sucked in to your sweet tale! God is good! Only I’d like to know how you got from there to 3 weeks later… Did you see Ryan again very soon? Or was it awhile? πŸ˜‰

  2. Oops, I meant to say “3 years later” not “3 weeks later.”

    • mamarissa

      Wardeh – you’re welcome! I’m glad you like our story! πŸ™‚ To answer your question without writing a novel, we did not see each other again for 8 months. But by that time, we were both aware of our affections for each other and that’s when we officially started seeing each other. It was also conveniently near my 18th birthday. πŸ™‚ Let me tell you, I learned the greatest lesson in patience and trusting God to communicate with Ryan on my behalf during that time, if that makes sense!

  3. Very sweet! It does make sense! Someday, I hope you’ll write the next installment. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

