In Which I Tell of Our Roadtrip

We’re here.

After driving from Yorba Linda, California to Boulder, Colorado, and then from Boulder, Colorado to Kalamazoo, Michigan, and then from Kalamazoo, Michigan to Rochester, New York, we are sleepily smiling and proud to say that we made it to Ryan’s parents’ house on Thursday afternoon. Our new home for the next several months.

The trip was long. Or maybe insane is a better way to describe it.

Our first leg of the drive took us 20 hours. The next leg took us 21 hours. The final day of driving only lasted about 9 hours, and I found myself feeling thankful. For only having to drive 9 hours. I’m not sure which part of that is more insane. Driving 21 hours in one day or feeling thankful for only having to drive 9 hours.

You know?

Anyway, it was hectic and exhausting and fun and beautiful and exciting and meaningful. We stayed in Boulder for a day and spent time with my brother and sister-in-law. We also stayed in Kalamazoo for a day with our great friends. With both couples, we enjoyed sweet company and incredibly delicious food and drink.

I love food.

Another important, notable part of our trip? My mom’s presence. She drove the entire way with us. Let me just say that without her, that trip would have been a whole lot more than insane and I don’t want to talk about the words that come to mind when I imagine the trip without her because they’re not pleasant and probably slightly inappropriate. Suffice it to say that we couldn’t have done it without her. End of story.

(Side note: my wonderfully sweet two-year-old is hanging on me like a monkey as I type. It’s really great that he wants to be so close to me but have you ever had hair stick to your face because it’s full of static electricity? Well, Jack has a very shaggy head of hair and I think maybe every single strand is trying to touch my face right now. Shudder.)

I think I have a greater appreciation for our country after driving across most of it. I was awed by the amazing diversity of it all. Rocks, flatlands, desert, farm country, huge mountains (Hello, Colorado!), rolling hills, rivers, trees, and everything in between – it’s amazing to me that within only several thousand miles, I was able to see so many different landscapes. I love it. I kind of loved Utah. Who knew?

Now that we’re here, we’re attempting to find our new normal. Ryan has unpacked his studio and now he’s got a great little space set up in the basement. Our bedroom (the attic) is still incredibly messy and full of boxes, but it’s at the top of our list of priorities. Ryan has a mixing job to take care of, but after that, he plans to go out and apply for some positions to supplement his music production work. I’ve begun to knit again and probably most of my energy is going into getting the boys adjusted to the new timezone.

I have plans to kick my post-production up several notches. To any regular readers I may have out there, please accept my most sincere apologies for the lack of updates. Be sure to check back soon for an awesome product review and giveaway, as well as more posts about our sabbatical here in upstate New York!

3 Comments

Filed under Jack, my delightful husband, tea-timing

3 responses to “In Which I Tell of Our Roadtrip

  1. Glad your back here and home in NY! I’m giving away some shoes I made for Noah. His feet are too big. If Forrest has small feet {or if you just want to} you should enter my giveaway. Doesn’t look like too many are interested… so I might just give them to you! The giveaway ends on Friday.

  2. Glad you made it safely. Don’t envy you that drive with little children!

  3. Betsy

    I followed you on Twitter while you were on your road trip and prayed for all of you. Glad you made it safely to New York. I will be praying for all of you there as the Lord guides and directs you and giving you wisdom.

    I traveled by car from California to Pennsylvania back in 2002. I regret that I did not have a camera to take pictures going across the country. It is beautiful seeing all the different landscapes. I went in September and the weather was great. The trees turning color is so beautiful. I was told that it starts up in the northern states and works it way down south.

    Knitting is a great idea. I was telling my neighbor that with her sewing baby blankets, she could sell them for extra income.

Leave a Reply

