I Don’t Want To Live In a Palace

This morning, I woke up thinking, “I’m glad I’m alive!” It made me want to rock some Cat Stevens, kind of.

Anyway, I’m not sure what’s made me feel so positive today. It’s like I just feel the goodness in my life.

We woke up at 5:40 or so and saw that our dear friends had just welcomed their second child (and first son) into the world an hour before that. Ryan went to prep the coffee, I finished nursing Forrest, and we showered. I put on a little make-up, got dressed in my favorite long skirt, and headed to the living room to enjoy a little chat with Ryan before he went off to work. The coffee was dark and strong and delicious. My cereal’s raisin to bran ratio was perfect.

Forrest woke up and greeted us with a huge, dimpled smile. He nursed like he hadn’t eaten all night (when, in fact, he’d actually eaten several times :)), and then giggled as we told him how glad we are that he’s around.

Right as Ryan was about to walk out the door, Jack woke up. His squinty, tired smile was a delight to see and he gave us all (including Forrest) a healthy dose of cuddles. He noticed the clean pair of Spiderman underwear I’d laid on the coffee table for him and then quickly began to remove his pants. He’s been wearing them for the last two hours and has gone pee (of his own accord) about 7 times now. Nice.

I’ve  done two loads of laundry. Jack ate slices of banana and a piece of toast at his own little table. Forrest took a quick nap.

I kind of want more coffee, but it’s not a deal breaker or anything.

This is a good, good life.

1 Comment

Filed under Forrest, Jack, my delightful husband, tea-timing

One response to “I Don’t Want To Live In a Palace

  1. Karen

    Isn’t it wonderful when we can reconize the little “love notes” God puts in our day, to say…..”I want to see you smile this morning!”
    I try to keep my eyes, ears and heart open for the small, hardly noticable gifts God gives me throughout the day to help me appreciate how blessed I really am!! Have a great day!

    P.S. Congrats on your impending adventure to New York and Tennesse…sounds like a blast!

Leave a Reply

