A New Season

We’ve been sitting on some news for a little while now.

This past week, though, we were able to solidify some plans and now, it’s time to tell the world.

Are you listening, world?

We’re moving.

We’ve known for a while that we wouldn’t stay here permanently. We’ve prayed, discussed, thought through, and prayed some more – again, and again, and again. And we’re finally – finally – moving forward.

We have plans to move to Tennessee for a very promising job offer Ryan has received. The catch, though? The job won’t be available for 6 to 9 months.

In the meantime, we’ve decided to temporarily relocate to upstate New York, where we will live with my in-laws so we can: enjoy time with Ryan’s side of the family, save money, adopt a dog, spend time with dear friends, and experience a snowy winter, among (many) other things.

(Yes, we will be sharing a house with my in-laws. And we’re very excited.)

There’s another noteworthy clincher: we’re officially leaving California on September 20. Yeah, you know – like, next month.

When I stop to think about it, I am amazed that we’re doing this. We’re really doing this. We’ve already begun to pack up our apartment. We’re saving our pennies. The moving truck has been reserved. This is actually happening!

I’ll be the first to admit that moving is not easy. It’s especially un-easy when it involves leaving your parents and your hometown. I am definitely praying for grace as I prepare to make such drastic changes. We know that this will be good for our family, and we are truly looking forward to experiencing this adventure together. Who knows what we’ll learn? I’m excited to find out!

I hope you’ll join us as we embark on this journey. We’re about to enter into a very different and (quite) possibly challenging season of our lives. I plan to record as much as possible within my blog, and I really look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

And now I have to get back to packing!

5 Comments

Filed under tea-timing

5 responses to “A New Season

  1. I had butterflies of excitement for you while reading this!! I’m excited for you guys… but NEXT MONTH!! WoaWee!!! I’ll be praying for you sister!

  2. Melissa

    Well, the boys will have to come over and play on the jungle gym at our place!

  3. Wow! Congratulations. I’m already praying for several sets of friends that are making BIG moves in the next month…so I’ll add you to my prayer list with them. 🙂

  4. Lindsey

    I am praying already the the boys do great! And living with the in-laws (as we are currently doing) has its definite perks 🙂 I am excited for you guys and know that blessings will overflow in ways you never thought possible just from your obedience.

    xoxo

  5. Tennessee is a beautiful state–I bet you will like it there. You are so brave to leave your hometown. I am still in mine (well, actually we are in the next town over where we could afford a house). It is hard for me to imagine leaving right now (and the way my husband’s career is going we may never leave), but it does sound like an adventure!

Leave a Reply

