Happy Hair

Well, some of my long-time readers might remember that I tried to go “no ‘poo” last  year.

And yeah…it didn’t end up working.

I used to be an everyday hair-washer and switching to baking soda and apple cider vinegar didn’t work out so well because (I think) I was way too “dependent” on my shampoo and conditioner. I liked the feeling of limp, silky, soft hair. I mean, really, who doesn’t?

Anyway, I gave it up and instead, just tried to wash my hair less. I switched to washing every other day, and it’s taken quite a while, but recently, I realized that my hair doesn’t look dirty on the no-wash day. So that’s good.

Still, I really wanted to wean myself off of shampoo. I have ridiculously sensitive skin and it bothers me to think of what my skin is absorbing. I decided to try washing my hair with Dr. Bronner’s lavender castile soap since I was already using it for body wash, and I’ve heard of others using it for shampoo.

Unfortunately, it left pretty bad residue. I realized, though, that I could wash with it in between real shampoo washes. So that’s day one: shampoo wash. Day two: no hair wash. Day three: Dr. Bronner’s wash. Day four: no hair wash. Repeat. Got it?

That method was working, and my hair looked fabulously wavy and textured after using Dr. Bronner’s, but it felt like it was coated with wax. I am one of those who enjoys nice textures and well…I don’t include “wax-coated hair” in my list of things I like to touch. You know? Alternatively, I no longer enjoy the look of my silky soft hair because it seems too plain and boring and wispy.

Gee, aren’t I difficult to please?!

Anyhow, last week, it suddenly hit me: what about baking soda and apple cider  vinegar? Although it failed me last time, I am much less dependent on real shampoo this summer and I felt certain that it would work better for me this time around.

So I did it.

And the results?

Love- uh-ly.

No limp, silly hair.

No wax-coated hair.

Only fun, textured, clean-feeling, happy hair!

I wanted you, my dear, darling readers, to know this because it really makes me happy. And, maybe there are some of you who need an alternative shampoo idea (or encouragement to try the alternative again).

Unfortunately, my eczema is bad regardless of what soaps I use, which has forced me to wear gloves while showering. Which feels (and looks) absolutely ridiculous. But I’m still happy that my body is not absorbing evil chemicals, and my hair looks nice, and I can wash it less.

The smell of vinegar is kinda weird, but it goes away. I promise you won’t smell like vinegar if you do this. Well, maybe for a few minutes after the shower but it’s worth it, people.

So, tell me if you try it. And tell me if you like it. And tell me if you don’t like it.

4 Comments

Filed under tea-timing

4 responses to “Happy Hair

  1. Yeah, I can cloth diaper, use a diva cup, and recycle/reuse everything but I can’t go ‘no poo.’ Good luck with that!

  2. When the instructions say to pour the vinegar over the ends of the hair, what does that mean exactly? I am thinking of trying this soon but not too sure exactly what that part means. And what about adding any essential oils or that sort of thing? When there was a lice abundance in our church everyone was using lavender oil in a rinse on their hair. Could you do the same thing after the vinegar to make it smell better?

    I like reading your blog. I enjoy everything you have to say. And I am excited to hear more from you.

  3. Weird that you posted this today. I had been ‘poo free for over a year and loved it, but this summer I’ve had a bout of yucky hair! It started to feel gross, like it was dirty too soon after I washed it. Then I started to get a bad white buildup, which I think may have been the baking soda even though I don’t use very much of it. It got in my hairbrush and was really making me mad. Anyway, after trying a couple of suds-free options, today I tried a bar of Dr. Bronner’s baby soap on my head. It seems to have worked okay. I also had to use conditioner or my hair would’ve been way too dry. So, I don’t know. I may alternate the baking soda/ACV with Dr. Bronner’s and see how that goes. It definitely felt better than going back to shampoo, which I did once and instantly regretted. Maybe the bad hair is a pregnancy thing or a summer thing and it’ll go away. No ‘poo worked beautifully before! 😦

  4. mamarissa

    @Sarah: I take about 1/4 cup of water and dilute it with about 3/4 cup of water in a little cup. When I have rinsed out the baking soda, I flip my head over, squeeze as much water out of my hair as I can, and then I actually dip the ends of my hair into the vinegar/water. In the past, I’ve rinsed it out, but my hair stays softer if I leave the vinegar in my hair (and there’s no vinegar smell after my hair dries). I believe you CAN use essential oils. I have been considering putting a couple drops of peppermint oil into the vinegar. I’ll let you know how that goes! Oh, and I’m so glad you’ve been enjoying my blog! Thanks so much 🙂

    @Jenny: I don’t think the white build-up is related to the baking soda because I started to get that while washing with Dr. Bronner’s! I still get it now, although I think I’m the only one who notices so I haven’t let it keep me from washing this way. I’ve read up on it and it seems like there are plenty of other people who deal with it, too. I’ve read several different explanations – it’s the build-up from any product you use/used to use, you’re not rinsing properly, etc, etc. I’m going to keep researching because the look of it in my hairbrush IS pretty gross and who wants build-up in their hair!? And by the way, I can’t WAIT to hear that Ivey has arrived! I keep checking back in anticipation…I’ll be praying for the birth!

Leave a Reply

