Quiet

I’m quiet but inside my head it is loud.

Babies are sleeping, Ryan is working, but I’m telling you, it’s loud.

It has occurred to me that there are generally two types of blogs – those with writers who wish to demonstrate ways to successfully live out a certain lifestyle (by persuasive, encouraging and educational posts) and those with writers who just share their lives and hope that someone (or several someones) will find hope and encouragement, laughter and tears, excitement and transparency in the simple day-to-day posts. I respect the writers of both kinds of blogs.

I think I’m beginning to discover that I want to be a day-to-day kind of writer, though.

I don’t share too many details of my personal life (though there have been times) – my feelings, my questions, my adventures, my screw-ups, my triumphs – but my passion is to just be, and let others do whatever they want with it.

Each time I tweet or update Facebook, I am amazed my unwillingness to dive very deep. But if I’m not sharing real life – then what’s the point?

I’ve been quiet. But it’s so loud in here and I’d rather be real. I may as well share the noise.

I’ll be me. I’ll stop with the unimportant and get on with the significant.

Okay?

3 Comments

Filed under tea-timing

3 responses to “Quiet

  1. Melessa Subisak

    I recognize the noise.. it’s different for us all.. it keeps me up till 2:30 in the morning… sometimes i am captivated by the Lord in his willingness to whisper in the noise.. to ask me to come back.

  2. Found your blog through Adventures in Babywearing and I just wanted to say that I’m looking forward to reading more of the significant.

    And I totally hope that my blog is the 2nd option!

    Audrey 🙂

  3. lea J.

    hi Rissa,
    i have been reading your blog for a while, i live in france, we work here as missionaries (church planting). i don’t blog, even though i keep thinking it would be a nice thing to do, but i am a bit concerned as too how to handle the how much you share issue!
    anyway i am looking forward to your “loud” thoughts…i find you have a very sweet spirit, and it shows through. I loved the “How we met” page.
    Many blessings, in HIM,
    Léa

Leave a Reply

