My Baby Is 2

I’m not quite sure how it happened, but just seconds ago, I was holding this baby:

jackbaby

Then, I blinked, and you know what happened? This boy was sitting right in front of me:

jack2

How did that happen? I mean…seriously?

On July 7, 2007 – two years ago – Jack Dempsey entered the world and turned me into a mama. He also turned our lives upside-down and changed the way we did everything. I had no idea what I was in for: he has shown me how to think outside myself, purely and simply because I have had no choice but to take care of him, and I know that I have become a better woman because of it. What a wonderful surprise.

There are still times I have no clue what I’m doing, but I know that God made me his mama for a reason – and I wouldn’t trade it for anything! I am grateful beyond words and my heart for Jack is incredibly swollen with love, affection, and the desire to mother him well.

So, thank you, Jack Dempsey. Thank you for teaching me how to love, how to sacrifice, and how to find joy in the little things. You are a gift and I am blessed.

2 Comments

Filed under on being a mama, things we celebrate

2 responses to “My Baby Is 2

  1. *Sigh* Where does the time go? He’s adorable. Just adorable. His little hands remind me of Gabriel’s… I love how they grasp things with their little fingers.

Leave a Reply

