With All My Heart

As I’ve attempted to regain control of my household cleaning and general upkeep, I’ve allowed a lot of the (used-to-be) regular chores to fall to the wayside. Of course, my baby is only 7 weeks old, but I feel really good and very, very ready to begin doing all my “normal” household duties again.

A while after I decided I was up for the challenge, I realized that I was only completing about half of what I used to – not because I was too busy with Forrest and Jack, but simply because I would lose momentum as the day wore on, and eventually, I decided that I didn’t really want to fold the clean laundry (among other things).

Then, the other day, I was spending some time in the Word and I felt led to Colossians 3, specifically verses 23 & 24:

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.

I was suddenly convicted as I considered my recent attitude toward housework. If I were to work at everything I do with all my heart as working for the Lord, then I would fold and put all those clean clothes away immediately so that no one would have to walk on them, or deal with a wrinkled shirt the following morning. I would wash my pots and pans as soon as I was finished using them, leaving the kitchen clean and welcoming. I would vacuum my floors regularly so that no one ever had to experience the unpleasant feeling of walking all over hardened cornbread crumbs (not that that’s ever happened, ahem) and I would keep my bathroom cabinets organized so that they’d be easy to look through.

It’s an honor to take care of this home. It’s an honor to be the helpmeet of my husband, and it’s an honor to be the mama of my boys. I personally feel that I should reflect my gratefulness to them and the Lord by being a good keeper of the things I’ve been blessed with. I don’t need my home to be spotless – however, I do want it to be orderly and comfortable for those who must reside within it.

I am so thankful that the Lord helped me see this. I needed an attitude adjustment for sure!

2 Comments

Filed under homemaking, tea-timing

2 responses to “With All My Heart

  1. You really inspire me with your posts about housework. Thank you for continuing to share what God is teaching you on the subject. I really need to pray that the Lord will change my attitude on this.

  2. I made it a personal goal that if I CAN do something, I do it right away. If I CAN wash the dishes right now, I do it instead of waiting until later. If I CAN fill the water pitcher now, I do it instead of putting it back in the refrigerater half full.

    This is OT, but I’m running a giveaway on my blog right now you might be interested in as a mama of a new one! 🙂

    http://from-my-life.blogspot.com/2009/06/hers-mine-yours-giveaway-1.html

Leave a Reply

