A Family of Four

We are now a family of four.
We’ve successfully produced two children – two gorgeous boys – and I’m in awe of God’s gift of parenthood. I love it that he’s chosen us to shepherd these (and hopefully many more) children.
Life has taken quite a big turn. It’s a lot of work to parent a newborn and a toddler! While the work is totally worth it, we’ve had to cry out for Mercy and Grace and Strength and Patience aplenty. And, as always, He has heard our cries.
I: am doing well. Very well. My body is recovering, my emotions are evening out, and my energy is slowly returning -I’ve even been getting up (slightly) earlier! I can’t claim that everything is perfect, but I am so grateful for the fact that we seem to be progressing, however slowly, toward our “new normal.” I’ve been so grateful for help from my family and meals from family and friends! What stress-reducers! Ultimately, my biggest struggle has been in allowing others to help with Jack. I know I need the help, and I haven’t rejected it – I just wish so badly that I could be the one tending to him. I miss him! Of course, I’m delighting in caring for Forrest, I just wish I could manage both at this point. I’m sure that time will come soon. I’ve been alone with the two boys a few times so far, and it has felt REALLY good to look after them both, even if it IS a little tricky. πŸ™‚
Ryan: is AMAZING. Incredible. WONDERFUL! He has been in charge of Jack, for the most part, and he’s really stepped up to the challenge. He has let me and Forrest sleep in every morning, he’s taken care of Jack’s meals, baths, changes, and all other random needs – he’s been a lifesaver! Fortunately, his job(s) are very flexible. He’s been able to spend a lot of time with us and I am SO thankful. It’s made our transition much easier. Plus, I just like being with him!
Jack: is testing his boundaries. That’s the best way to describe him at this point. He’s still the sweet boy we know and love, but when Forrest arrived, Jack apparently decided that he didn’t feel like obeying anymore. It’s gotten better as we’ve communicated to him that he still has to obey, even if mama is nursing Forrest and can’t exactly get up and deal with him in the midst of each offense. He’s catching on. He hasn’t shown ANY resentment toward Forrest. In fact, he showers the baby with so many hugs and kisses, we actually have to limit it in order to keep Forrest happy! πŸ™‚ He’s also been processing the whole nursing thing – if Ryan or I say that Forrest is hungry, Jack has been pointing to my chest and saying, “Eat!” very enthusiastically! So cute!
Forrest: is a dream baby. He has been so easy. Like I mentioned in his birth story, he has been nursing SO well from the very beginning. Around 10 days after he was born, I realized that I was no longer sore AT ALL. He’s been nursing around the clock, every couple of hours or so, and I couldn’t be more satisfied with that. He sleeps in our bed, and one of the best things about this postpartum period is all the restful sleep we are getting. I barely have to wake up to nurse him due to the glorious gift of the side-lying position. πŸ™‚ Forrest still detests diaper changes, but it’s nothing I can’t handle. I’m getting the hang of prefolds and I love his huge cloth-diapered bottom. It’s just precious. We’ve had a few days of cluster feeding (can you say “growth spurt??”), which have resulted in Forrest being latched on for hours on end, but I keep saying that lots if nursing is much better than an unhappy baby. I can’t complain. He’s growing some delicious chub, occasionally surprising us with sweet, one-dimpled smiles, and constantly reminding us of Jack as a newborn – except that Forrest has golden hair!
I love my boys (all THREE of them!). I love this family we’ve become. I just wanted to give you a little glimpse into our new life. πŸ™‚

3 Comments

Filed under Forrest, Jack, my delightful husband, on being a mama

3 responses to “A Family of Four

  1. Mercy

    Congratulations on your new addition! I’m very glad to hear everything is going well and you guys are settling in to your new family of four. What fun its going to be to have 3 boys in the house, especially once Forrest starts running around!

  2. Too sweet! Thanks for sharing a bit of your new normal. It sounds like everything is coming along wonderfully! You are very blessed.

  3. So thrilled to hear that your life is peaceful and well! May God continue to guide you in this new, more curvy path of life.

Leave a Reply

