For a Cute Little Bum!

I am really looking forward to cloth diapering a newborn. We began to cloth diaper Jack when he was 5 months old, and when I realized how much money we were saving in addition to that strange excitement that came along with it (cloth diaperers, you know what I’m talking about!), I was amazed that I hadn’t heard more about the benefits of cloth diapering from the very beginning.

Forrest is blessed – his first diaper covers arrived in the mail today and I’m thrilled.

woolsoakers

They’re made by Aristocrats Baby Products. They’re 100% untreated wool and are simply scrumptious. Even better, the size small fits infants from 7-20 lbs! Paying for them didn’t feel quite as painful as it could have when I realized that I’d be getting at least a year (probably more) out of these covers. They need to be washed and lanolized in order to ensure proper leak protection, and I’m excited for yet another preparatory task. 🙂

In addition to Forrest’s Aristocrats covers, we’re also awaiting the arrival of some short nappy pants by Ruskovilla Oy from Nova Natural and a Clover wool diaper cover with side snaps from Tiny Birds Organics. These purchases were also easier to make because of the covers’ size ranges – the nappy pants fit from 0 months to 1 year, and the Clover cover fits up to 15 lbs. I cannot wait for them to arrive on my doorstep!

We’re planning on using simple unbleached Indian prefolds and Snappis for Forrest’s actual diapers. Although I’ve really enjoyed using Jack’s Little Beetle organic cotton velour fitted diapers, I have found that I also like the simplicity of prefolds – especially, I believe, on a quick-growing newborn!

2 Comments

Filed under on being a mama, pregnancy

2 responses to “For a Cute Little Bum!

  1. Janine

    I have to say, the Aristocrats covers look cute! You will definately have to post a pick of Forrest in them.

  2. Janine

    oops, meant to say *picture*

Leave a Reply

