Easy, Tasty Whole Grain Pancakes

This morning, we wanted pancakes. I was in the mood to try something new so I looked online and decided upon this recipe. I only had one cup of milk, but I had recently purchased some Bob’s Red Mill powdered milk for a dinner roll recipe and went ahead and supplemented the rest of the milk requirement with that. I prefer to use all fresh milk, of course, but…what can I say? I’m using what I’ve got on hand (sometimes, you hafta!).

We loved these pancakes because they had such a unique flavor – and even better, there’s no refined sugar in them! Wahoo! 

Here’s the recipe (tweaked ever so slightly), if you’d rather read it here.

Whole Grain Pancakes

Ingredients:

2 cups milk
2 eggs
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups whole wheat flour, or combination of whole wheat, rye, oat, millet or buckwheat flour
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup oil
1 & 1/2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

In a large bowl, whisk together  milk, eggs, baking powder, salt, honey, oil, vanilla and cinnamon. Add flour(s) and mix only until large clumps disappear. Cook on griddle (or other nonstick pan) on medium-hight heat. Flip when small bubbles appear.

My pancake sizes varied, but I made approximately 12.

Leave a comment

Filed under eating food, homemaking, making food

Leave a Reply

