One of those days…

It’s one of those days where, yeah, there are good things happening, but the frustrating things seem to have outweighed the good stuff. So far, at least.

Ryan didn’t have anything scheduled today, which is a first in about a week, so we had a really nice morning. Later, we set up the bassinet feature on our pack-n-play, reorganized and cleaned our room, prepped Jack’s “big boy bed” (yes, we really are transitioning him this time!), cleaned his room, and set up the glider in our room. It felt really, really good to do a little bit of nesting.

And, along with all that, we spent the day running Jack to the potty and/or cleaning up little accidents.

Then, Jack went down for a nap, we relaxed and cleaned ourselves up, and Jack awoke early (presumably because he realized he could just get out of bed). I started having highly uncomfortable Braxton-Hicks contractions and tried to make bread in between each one (ouch!). As soon as I got my bread rising (and after some conflicts with dough that just wanted to stay sticky no matter what I did), I started prepping some pizza dough. I finished the dough, added the pizza toppings (olive oil, a thin layer of mozzarella, thin slices of three varieties of gorgeous heirloom tomatoes, a thin layer of parmesan, Italian seasonings and freshly ground pepper), and put the pizza in the oven. It came out beautifully and tasted amazing. While we ate, I put the loaves of bread into the oven and the timer went off right as we finished our dinner. The tops of the bread looked amazing and golden – they seemed like the perfect loaves.

But they weren’t.

Neither seemed to want to come out of its bread pan, which was the first indication that something wasn’t right. I put a thin spatula down the sides of the pan to loosen the bread a bit, because it’s important to get the loaves out immediately (to prevent sogginess). The cinnamon raisin loaf felt like it was budging, so I went ahead and turned it upside-down to help the process…only, the middle of the loaf fell out with a SPLAT, and lo and behold – the loaf hadn’t baked through. The outside looked, as I said, amazing, but somehow the inside had managed to stay goopy and completely unbaked. My heart sank.

I tried to salvage that loaf by putting the pieces back together and baking it longer – but eventually, the edges began to burn and the inside refused to bake. If you’ve been reading my blog for a while now, you might recall a post where I explained that it’s really hard for me to get over my own baking/cooking mistakes. I felt like my pet had just died (no, I don’t have a pet, but you get the idea).

I had high hopes for the other loaf. It was huge, golden, and even better, I had baked it in a glass bread pan, so I could see the bottom and sides. It looked perfect. I tried to free it from the pan with a spatula, as I did with the other loaf, but it really didn’t want to come out. I decided to wait and risk the sogginess in hopes that this loaf would pull through.

Maybe ten minutes later, I decided it had to come out. I flipped the pan upside-down, gently thumped the sides and bottom…and well, it did come out.

Half of it.

Now, if I thought my heart sank before, then it plummeted this time. Both loaves? Ruined? How?

Quickly I reminded myself that I had made an amazing pizza with homemade dough.

But it didn’t help.

So, in order to make up for the bread fiasco, I looked up the bran muffin recipe I’ve been wanting to try and started prepping it immediately. We really have given up buying bread in-store, so our dependency on my bread is pretty high. Although we won’t be able to make sandwiches until I make more loaves, we will at least have muffins to eat with breakfast (yes, the muffins came out fine).

Anyway…I’m still recovering. And, my contractions aren’t as intense but they are still uncomfortable. I’m tired from hours of mixing, kneading, rising, shaping, and baking. All for nothing, really.

I will eventually get over this, but I needed to vent. If you held on until the end of this post, I commend you – I know I’m whining. I’m just a big ball of frustration right now!

Tomorrow, things will be better!

3 Comments

Filed under eating food, homemaking, pregnancy

3 responses to “One of those days…

  1. I so with you. I think that’s what happened to my bread, except it came out of the pan. I’m thinking with that recipe the bread needs to cook a little longer because it should technically be three loaves. That was my conclusion but I haven’t tried it yet. It’s disappointing when you do all that work and it doesn’t seem to come out right.

    And as for the Braxton Hick’s… not sure I can make it through these!! I never had these with Gabriel until right before I went into labor so it makes me VERY uneasy. I’m glad to know it’s normal (although not wishing them upon you).

    I hope you have a better Monday.

  2. I definitely know how it feels to ruin something in the kitchen (I’m probably even an expert at it)! The worst thing I ever ruined was a beautiful chocolate swirl cheesecake, which I prepared perfectly and then burned. I cried đŸ˜¦

  3. I would totally be super frustrated by that. Such a waste– it breaks the heart. Did you figure out what went wrong? I’m glad the muffins turned out okay, I hope they were a consolation to you!

Leave a Reply

