Marking the Day

 

32 weeks pregnant

32 weeks pregnant

Today, I am 32 weeks pregnant. I am amazed at how quickly the time has flown by, and yet, I feel like it’s starting to slow down a bit.

This pregnancy has been pretty uneventful, which is probably why these last few weeks have stuck out to me. I had a sinus infection one week, Ryan and Jack had the flu the next week, we had company for 6 days, I managed to keep sickness at bay for a few days until our company left and then WHAM – I was hit with a cold and flu at the same time, and then we went out of town for 6 days. I’ve been so restless at night, my hip joints are killing me, and my skin has gotten even itchier (I didn’t think that was possible) over the last week or so. I realize I sound like I’m complaining, but really, I’m just…sharing. 🙂 I’ve loved every minute of being pregnant with this boy and I wouldn’t trade it for the world. Reality is, though, I’m kinda getting that “can we be done now?” itch! I’m sure all you moms can relate!

One particularly noticeable part of this pregnancy is my size. I cannot even begin to tell you how many people have said to me, “You don’t look 7 months pregnant…!” (or 6 months…or 5 months…). My belly has developed the same way this time as it did in my pregnancy with Jack – the only difference is that I weigh considerably less this time around (due to diet restrictions imposed upon me by my gallbladder, the darn thing). It’s so strange to hear that I don’t look as pregnant as I am – mostly because I FEEL SO PREGNANT! Sometimes, after a meal (not a huge meal, mind you), I literally have to lay down in order to keep myself from exploding. And then, I get reflux from laying down! Ha! Forrest is majorly active, and (unfortunately), I’m pretty sure that he hasn’t assumed the head-down position. Most of the time, I feel him grinding on my left hip and right rib simultaneously, and I can’t believe he’s actually going to get bigger. Honestly.

I went to my first La Leche League meeting on Wednesday, and I was explaining that I couldn’t believe that my baby could come any time within the next 6 to 10 weeks. I shared about Jack’s somewhat early (9 days early, to be exact) birth and expressed that I’m trying to be ready for the possibility of an early arrival this time, too. I know previous pregnancies don’t always determine what will happen in subsequent pregnancies, but I just can’t help but wonder if he’ll show up early. And perhaps that has something to do with my disbelief that he’s actually got to continue growing until that time. 🙂

Anyway, that’s where I’m at right now. I am so thrilled to be this close to the end. I am so excited to meet my son! Jack is readily recognizing real-life babies, as well as regularly referring to my belly as “bay-beeee!” I can’t wait for him to actually meet his little brother. I think it will be wonderful.

2 Comments

Filed under on being a mama, pregnancy, tea-timing

2 responses to “Marking the Day

  1. You look great! We’re both ready, aren’t we??! I’ve felt ready and then have to remind myself to be patient. I’m so ready to meet this little one, though!

    And not to say what everyone else says, but you don’t look 32 weeks pregnant! But I don’t doubt at all that you’re feeling it. But you look adorable!

    And it will be wonderful for Jack to meet his brother. I keep thinking about how great it will be to introduce Gabriel to his little brother/sister. How sweet those thoughts are!

    Praying for you!

  2. Lindsey

    You look amazing! And the weight thing-it also helps that you are running around after a 20 month old too!!! Eli STILL calls Noah “Bayy-beee” in a really high pitched voice, it’s hilariously cute! Jack is going to love it! I was a little worried before I had Noah about Eli and if he’d be sweet to Noah-and much to my delight he LOVES his little brother! I am SO thankful that God gave me another son!!!

    I am SO happy for you guys and love the pic with an update on the belly!!!!! You look great! Keep taking pictures 🙂

Leave a Reply

