My Day (and a Recipe)

The day isn’t over yet, but I’m feeling extremely productive! I spent the larger part of last week completely horizontal, and although my ear isn’t fully healed yet, I’d say it’s about 85% better. Thank you to those who prayed for me! Obviously, I didn’t really have the opportunity to get any housework done last week, and that, in and of itself, was painful. This weekend, we were a bit busy catching up, and today, I resolved myself to do as much as I could to get the house back in order. I have yet to dust and vacuum, but I’ve managed to make a batch of granola, get several loads of laundry done, spend a little quality time with Ryan this morning as well as quiet time on my own, clean my kitchen, run a load in the dishwasher, and reorganize my spice cabinet and my tea cabinet. I’m waiting for Ryan to come home with some flour, and after that, I’ll start my bread dough. When Jack wakes from his nap, I’ll vacuum the living area (which is presently covered in Goldfish crumbs – yuck). All in all, I feel like I’ve had a very successful Monday thus far!

On a completely unrelated note, did you know that you can buy 6 1-gallon bottles of water for under $4 at Costco?!?

In honor of my celebratory, I’m-back-on-my-feet mood, I decided I’d post the recipe I use for homemade tortillas. The recipe calls for white flour, but I’d like to use spelt flour in the future. I may or may not tweak the recipe…we’ll see how it goes. In the meantime, this recipe is delicious and easy – making it undeniably post-worthy!

Flour Tortillas
Yields approximately 12 tortillas 

Ingredients:
2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1/4 cup vegetable shortening, cut into pieces (or, if you’re using shortening out of a tub, just mash it with a fork when mixing)
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. baking powder
3/4 cup warm water

Directions:
In a bowl, blend flour, salt, baking powder and shortening until it resembles fine meal. Add warm water, a little at a time, to flour mixture and toss until liquid is incorporated. Water amount will vary with different flour types. Form dough into a ball and knead on a floured surface until dough is smooth and elastic. Divide, and make 12 smaller balls. Cover and let stand at least 30 minutes.

To Cook:
Roll each ball of dough on a floured surface to make 6 or 7 inch sized tortillas (if you don’t have a rolling pin, use a smooth drinking glass – that’s what I do! 🙂 Oh, and be sure to flour whatever you choose to roll with). Place on a (ungreased) pre-heated griddle or cast iron skillet and cook till medium golden on both sides (in other words, there will be slightly browned bubbles – be sure not to overcook). Remove to a basket lined with a cloth towel or put between a towel until cool. After the tortillas have cooled completely, store them in a plastic bag.

* Please note that these tortillas will likely be a bit smaller than the store-bought variety, and they will also be chewier – the way tortillas are supposed to be! Don’t stress about rolling out perfectly circular tortillas, and don’t worry if they don’t look gorgeous after you cook them. If I plan to eat the tortillas right away, I place them in my special tortilla bowl with a dishtowel, placing the lid back on after I add each new tortilla. This keeps them warm and moist – perfect for taco/burrito night. 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under eating food, homemaking, making food

One response to “My Day (and a Recipe)

  1. Zann

    I’m so glad you posted this. Scotty and I made chile verde the other day and even went as far as making homemade corn tortillas. They were really good but I wanted to try some flour ones. And this will be perfect. I can’t wait to try them.

Leave a Reply

