Whole Wheat Banana Muffins

I made these muffins a couple of weeks ago, and I was thrilled with the results! They were easy to make and even easier to eat. 🙂 I didn’t take a picture this time (I was way too caught up in the flavor), but I hope you’ll try them anyway. They won’t disappoint!

Whole Wheat Banana Muffins
Yields 1 dozen muffins 

Ingredients

1/2 cup honey
1/2 cup oil
2 eggs
1 cup mashed bananas (two average-sized, nicely spotted bananas should do the trick)
1 & 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1 & 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt

Directions

In a large mixing bowl, combine salt, flour, baking powder and baking soda. In  another bowl, combine honey, eggs, oil, and banana, making sure to mix well. Add banana blend to the flour mixture, taking care to not over mix. Pour into a greased muffin pan or paper muffin cups. Bake at 325 for 25-30 minutes. Use a toothpick to test for doneness. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes, then on cooling rack until cool enough to enjoy. Best served warm.

4 Comments

Filed under making food

4 responses to “Whole Wheat Banana Muffins

  1. Amanda

    Risa, these are delicious! I was so happy to find a recipe without sugar! Super easy and fast to make! I found the recipe and made them this morning.

    I made a few changes. I used 3/4 c. oat flour + 3/4 c. whole wheat flour to equal 1&1/2 c. flour. I had to use 3 bananas (maybe b/c of the size). I used 1/4 c. oil + 1/4 c. unsweetened applesauce. I added walnuts and 1/2 t. cinnamon.

    I made mini muffins and large muffins and they were done in 20 minutes! I’m glad I checked them or else I would have burned them. They’re too delicious to ruin! 🙂

    Thanks for a good recipe…it’s a keeper! It will be used frequently b/c I don’t eat bananas after they have a few brown spots on them…don’t like the flavor. 🙂 Go figure!

    Amanda 🙂

    P.S. The kids are scarfing them down right now!

  2. Pingback: Whole Wheat Flour- Double Treat « Art , Food and Travel Chronicles

  3. Connie

    I absolutely love these muffins! I ate 3 the night I baked them! I used whole wheat pastry flour and the came out moist and tender. I baked one muffin separately and on 3:50 since I was making my husband regular banana bread and that muffin came out a little higher. I actuall prefer the muffins at 3:25 and flatter since the top is more firm and almost comes off in one piece.

    This recipe is a keeper! Thanks!

  4. I love them and make them all the time! ( :

Leave a Reply

