Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow

On Sunday, we gave Jack his very first haircut! It was a bittersweet time for me – I knew we needed to rid him of his mullet but I somehow felt personally responsible for the growth of those beautiful hairs! I was also sad because his hair wasn’t very curly that day – sometimes it is, sometimes it isn’t, and it was one of those dry days where his hair just looked static-y and wispy. There was a very slight curl, and I made sure to save it in a plastic bag. It looks so delicate and baby-like!

I decided I’d post a couple of recent pre-haircut photos so you could see the ginormous difference here!

 

There's some major bedhead for you (oh, and that's Jack's friend, Harper)!

There's some major bedhead for you!

 

 

A view of the front...

A view of the front...

And now, for the haircut!

 

This is when Ryan first started - he shaved the top off first!!

This is when Ryan first started - he shaved the top off first!!

 

 

I LOVE this one!!!

I LOVE this one!!! Is it a laugh or a cry??

 

 

The final result! What a big boy!

The final result! What a big boy!

Even though it’s been over two days, I still can’t believe how old he looks. It’s like he grew up in 15 minutes – before his haircut, he was a baby, and after his haircut…he became a little boy! I guess it’s especially weird because this week, I bought him a trainer seat for the potty (though we won’t officially begin potty training for a few months). It’s even more strange for me when I lay him down for a nap on the mattress in his room. He hasn’t fully graduated to a bed, but when I put him in there, it just reminds me that he’s only getting older! Of course, I know he’s still so little…I’m just amazed at how quickly time has flown by. In only a few months, he’ll be a big brother! Wow!

2 Comments

Filed under on being a mama, pregnancy

2 responses to “Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow

  1. Aww, he is so cute with his new haircut! People have said maybe we should get Suzi’s hair trimmed, but I don’t want to. I think we’ll let it grow out until she says something.

    That’s so great that you liked the movie! We will probably be buying that one when it comes out on DVD. I think the Love Dare is so much more effective when you’ve seen it in the context of the movie.

  2. Rissa, He’s adorable! I know EXACTLY what you mean about him looking older! I look at Gabriel and think, where did my baby go??? He was a baby when we walked in and a big boy when we left. It also doesn’t help (the fact that he seems big) that he’s talking more now! 🙂 Jack is just a cutie!

Leave a Reply

