About Beds

I’ve been thinking about beds lately.

We have a twin mattress in Jack’s room set up right next to his “crib” (we use a pack-n-play). My aunt passed down her youngest’s old bed rail, so we connected that to the mattress and have occasionally put Jack down for a nap on the bed. It works fine but when he wakes up, he goes to the door and cries, probably because he feels locked in!

I’ve considered transitioning him to the bed, but I guess I’m worried that he’ll start waking up more during the night since he’ll be able to crawl out of the bed. What if he gets up in the middle of the night and starts playing with his toys? What if he hurts himself because he can’t see very well in the almost-dark? These are just a few of my concerns, and I’m not sure if they’re really practical.

I have a couple of reasons for wanting him to transition into a bed. First of all, he’s getting pretty big (in size) for a pack-n-play and he often looks uncomfortable. Second, I’d like him to be completely done with sleeping in the pack-n-play by the time the new baby comes because I’d like to use the bassinet feature when I’m not wearing/sleeping with the baby. In general, the baby will sleep in our bed, and I will likely keep him/her in a sling during the entire day, but I’d like to use the pack-n-play for times when I can’t do either.

Does anyone have any advice for me? How have you gone about the transition from crib to bed? Did you find that your child woke more during the night as a result? Was it a smooth/difficult transition? Was it worth it? How old was your child?

3 Comments

Filed under on being a mama

3 responses to “About Beds

  1. We are there too. Suzi’s crib, converted to be a toddler bed (which means the front is off) is pushed up against the foot of our bed. We don’t have a footboard, so that means she can just crawl on up when she wants to breastfeed early in the morning. She doesn’t go to sleep there willingly, though. I think we are going to have a fight on our hands trying to transition her to do that, and I’m kind of dreading it.

  2. Again, I don’t have as much time as I would like to write about this. We’ve transitioned all of ours into a bed around 18 months and it worked wonderfully for us. Never an issue of getting up to play, etc. because we’ve always stressed that nighttime is sleep/quiet time. That doesn’t mean that they’ve never gotten up, but usually, they go straight from the mattress to Mom or Dad’s bed for comfort. (We use a small nightlight to facilitate getting around if needed. It is not enough to keep them up, but enough to prevent stumbling in the dark!)

  3. We’ve transitioned all of ours to beds around 17-19m. By that age, it was mostly necessary since I was always so pregnant that it was a pain to have to keep getting the child out of the crib after naps and in the morning. šŸ™‚

    It’s always been much smoother than I ever anticipated it would be. We’ve always done a nightlight, too, to help with middle-of-the-night fears and searches for Mama and Daddy.

    I think the important thing is to clearly teach the boundaries at first. Just because he CAN get out of bed on his own, doesn’t mean he’s allowed to do so whenever he wants! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

