Reflections from a Busy Week

– Well, it’s October, and I went to the beach this week. Doesn’t anyone else find that strange? I know I live in California and all, but you’d think the beach would at least be too chilly. Not so. My mom, Jack and I walked along the cliffs and down into a cove, and then went to one of our favorite restaurants – Pacific Whey. It’s a casual cafe nestled in a small shopping center above Crystal Cove. It was fun – and warm!

 

 

Eating at Pacific Whey - Jack ate a whole grilled cheese sandwich and side of fruit! Wow!

Eating at Pacific Whey - Jack ate a whole grilled cheese sandwich and side of fruit! Wow!

 

Little Corona Del Mar - our view from the cliffs

Little Corona Del Mar - our view from the cliffs

 

– I’ve noticed that Jack is starting to look a lot like Ryan. I love it. Ryan has such a great look (of course) and I can only hope that Jack will continue to grow into Ryan’s little look-alike. It’s so sweet!

 

My men

My men

 

– Over this past week, my 9-week-old baby has grown roughly to the size of a grape. Isn’t that amazing? At 6 weeks, the baby was only the size of a lentil. That’s a lot of growing in 3 short weeks!

 

Little Babe

Little Babe

 

– I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about how to turn my home into a haven. Each time I would ask Ryan to tell me how to make him more comfortable and relaxed in our home, he’d say something like, “New furniture!” or “This apartment is just too hard to make comfortable! We’ll just have to wait till we can move.” I was never satisfied with those answers because I just knew there had to be a way to bring peace and comfort to this home without breaking our bank or moving (before we’re ready). Honestly, Ryan knew that, too, but both of us were at a loss. How else would I do it? 

Then, the other day, I spent a fair amount of time just sitting in one of our armchairs and staring at the room. I noticed that the furniture felt too spread out – it didn’t feel cozy. Then I noticed the way all of our furniture looked like it had been haphazardly positioned – nothing really flowed. I noticed the bare walls, too, but I had already decided I’d refrain from painting any more of this apartment and I wasn’t sure how else I’d make the walls less noticeable. I considered creating artwork, which I love to do, but in these super-tight financial times, I don’t really have the money to spend on supplies.

I thought and thought and thought. Soon after, Ryan came home from work. I had come to a conclusion – reorganizing the furniture! After lots of huffing and puffing and dusting and surveying, we finally figured it out. The difference, my friends, is huge. It feels organized, comfortable, relaxing, and right. The next morning, when we came out to spend some time together before Ryan went to work, his first words were, “Ahh…this room is so relaxing.” SCORE!

 

The view from the entry way

The view from the entry way

 

The view from the fireplace, looking right

The view from the fireplace, looking right

 

Jack's play area behind the couch (he loves it here!)

Jack's play area behind the couch 🙂

 

The view from behind the couch

The view from behind the couch

 

And the kitchen, for kicks

And the kitchen, for kicks

 

– Nursing has been going well. I really appreciate everyone’s comments on my previous post, To Ask or to Be Asked. I’ve decided that I will let him ask for the most part, but when he’s cranky, tired, or unhappy, I will offer to nurse him. We’ve been able to maintain a fair amount of nursing sessions per day, and I’m satisfied with this approach. I just don’t think I’m ready (nor do I think he’s ready) to let it fade away altogether!

– In my quest to learn more about creating a peaceful, comfortable home, I’ve realized a few important things. 1, you don’t always have to spend money to create comfort. 2, scented candles do wonders for the “feel” of a room. And 3, rearranging furniture or using wall decor eliminates the need for paint (although I prefer painted walls, it’s nice to know that I can do without in a time where painting would be more trouble that it’s worth).

– Today, Ryan brought home lunch from Mom’s Deli. I had egg salad on squaw bread with alfalfa sprouts and shreds of carrot, Sun Chips, and rootbeer! It was delicious…possibly one of my favorite meals ever.

– Tonight, I’m going out with a group of long-time girlfriends for my birthday celebration. Yeah…my birthday was in August, but it’s taken a while for everyone to clear their calendars! I’m excited for a girls’ night – Ryan has graciously accepted the task of caring for Jack and I’m happy to have an outing to look forward to. We’re going to Olive Garden because, well…unlimited breadsticks and salad sound just right to me!

2 Comments

Filed under eating food, homemaking, pregnancy

2 responses to “Reflections from a Busy Week

  1. cute pics! i love the bean/grape that shows the size of the baby – very cool pic!

    hey so i noticed that you live in southern california too. did you find a midwife yet? in your lost art of parenting on birth you said you were interested in a homebirth this time around. i’m also interested in one this time around and i found my midwife earlier this year at a screening of the Business of Being Born and really really liked her. let me know if you would like her name. she’s in Newport Beach and said she’s willing to travel 50 miles one way. you can email me if you’d like her name 😀

    julia

  2. Your house looks so neat! You may have just inspired me to get off my butt and clean our house. It is not cozy right now! I binge cleaned for my in-laws’ visit a couple of weeks ago and since then things have gotten into a mess again. I am bad about doing that.

    It’s good that you can tolerate candles right now. Your morning sickness must be getting better!

Leave a Reply

