A Season of Change

This week has been packed. Not in the way you would expect – I barely left my house and mostly, I spent my time on the couch watching movies. Plenty happened this week, though. More than I can or will share, but I’d like to tell you about some of it.

Good news! For the last two days, I’ve noticed that I do not feel as sick as before. When I get up in the mornings, I am no longer overcome by waves of nausea before I stuff myself with saltines or pretzels. I can stand to drink water and bread doesn’t disgust me any longer (although, I was hoping this would be my chance to kick gluten – but oh well! 😉 ). My appetite has certainly returned and I’m actually excited to eat. Hallelujah! I know I’m not in the clear yet – I’m only 8 weeks and 1 day along – but I’m hoping God is having mercy on me! 🙂 I’ve been so frustrated with my inability to clean, cook, and generally keep up with my home. I’ve felt very helpless, and it’s been a difficult few weeks. It has interfered with my joy about this pregnancy – and Lord knows I am joyful! It’s just hard to keep things in perspective when you feel so miserable.

More happy news – yesterday and today are the first truly cool days of the season. Of course…we are expecting warm days this week – possibly 90 degrees – but I’m trying to live in this moment! It’s cloudy, cool, and we’ve had a fire going this morning. As I write this, I’m hearing the first sprinkles of rain on our back patio cover! Thank you, Jesus! It’s also fun because Jack is wearing his Jackson Hole sweatshirt with a moose on it. I love it! We’re going to my parents’ house later, and we’re dressing Jack in his sweatshirt, his khaki cargo pants, and his brown low-top Converse. Stylin’ kid! It just makes me happy to see him looking cozy. This is my favorite time of year – fall and winter. I’m just hoping the cooler days become more of the norm soon.

I registered for our new baby and for Jack’s Christmas list. Some of you may roll your eyes because – geez, I still have quite some time till this baby is due, and a registry for a Christmas list? But, let me explain. It’s pretty fun. I recently discovered Wishpot. You can set up an account with them, and install a Wishpot button on your browser window. Whenever you’re browsing an online store, if you find something you’d like to add to your registry (wedding, baby, Christmas, general wishlist – whatever), you click the button, add specifics, and the item is immediately added to your registry! Awesome!

I already knew we’d be registering for minimal amounts of things for the new baby, so I decided to get a head start. It basically consists of all organic neutral newborn layette, cloth diapers, a new carseat, and a couple of natural toys (like a maple teething ring and an organic floppy bunny).

For Jack’s Christmas list – well, it just seems like an easier way to guarantee that he won’t get a bunch of plastic, toxic toys that he won’t end up playing with. And, in case that sounds insensitive, I also know that my family really wants to buy him things that he’ll like, and we’ll allow him to keep. I chose items from one of my favorite online stores, Nova Natural. Jack got a great wooden kitchen for his birthday, so we requested things like wooden fruits and vegetables, ceramic pots for his play stove, a “slicing set” consisting of velcroed vegetables that can be cut with a knife, a miniature broom, wooden books, Hans Christian Anderson tales and Grimms Fairytales. I’m really excited for him! He loves to imitate us, so he has really enjoyed playing in his kitchen. He’s been trying to help me sweep lately, and of course, he loves books!

Well, we just finished heating up some soup and I’m famished! I’ll try to post more updates this week if I can manage to complete my household tasks!

3 Comments

Filed under pregnancy

3 responses to “A Season of Change

  1. Camille

    I’ve thought about registering! I haven’t yet…but I plan!

    Since I have 2, I have most things I need, but I’ll need new bedding, and this baby is due in a completely different season then the other 2, so I don’t think the clothes I have will work! (Too bad, ’cause I have a ton!)

    I think I want this bedding, http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2973393 I fell in love with it, and it’s neutral, so it doesnt’ matter what I’m having!

  2. That sounds like a cool way to register! I wish I could register for Suzi’s Christmas but I don’t think all the people who give her gifts would understand. Wooden toys are just so much more pleasant to have around, and I feel good knowing she’s safer. We bought her these stupid Duplo blocks last year, and she left them lying all over the house. They were plastic of course, and the edges were pretty sharp. We were always stepping on them barefoot (ouch!) so when we had our consignment sale I got mad and sold them. Suzi doesn’t miss them, and I certainly don’t. We cut and are in the process of sanding a set of wooden blocks for her.

  3. Lauren

    Hey,
    I just wanted to say thank you for the encouragement and tips regarding Oliver and his wakeful nights. It really helps to hear from someone who has gone through the same situation… gives me a little light at the end of the tunnel =).
    I’m glad that you had a couple of good days, and I pray that it lasts for you!
    Thanks for sharing about the registry tool, I may just have to use that for our family this year.

Leave a Reply

