All About Jack

I saw this meme on Kristin’s blog, and I just love this topic – so how could I resist?! Enjoy!
Jack Dempsey, born July 7, 2007

1. How long had you been married at the time of the birth? Just under one year and three months

2. What were your reactions when you found out that you were pregnant? Shock and awe! I had an inkling that I was pregnant, but considering I didn’t truly know what it felt like, I assumed that I couldn’t possibly be pregnant. When the test showed up positive, I couldn’t believe it!

3. How old were you? 20 when I found out, and 20 when I gave birth

4. How did you find out that you were pregnant? An HPT – and then eventually, I went to a midwife’s clinic to do another more official pregnancy confirmation

5. Who did you tell first? I waited until Ryan got home and then sent him into the bathroom – I had placed the positive test on top of the paper that explained how to read the test. He didn’t believe it was real!! 🙂 My parents were out of town and Ryan’s live in NY, so we waited to tell them for a few days…but that night I told a friend at my Bible study because I just couldn’t hold it in!!

6. Did you find out the sex? Yes. Everyone insisted that they thought it was a girl – and lo and behold, it was a boy! There were many surprised family members, to say the least! 😉

7. Due date? July 16, 2007

8. Did you deliver early or late? Early – 9 days early!

9. Did you have morning sickness? I did, but it was very mild. It started around 8 or 9 weeks and only lasted until 12 weeks. I never threw up – I just felt queasy sometimes. I was able to eat most foods and I never had any terrible aversions. A lot different from this pregnancy already!! 🙂

10. What did you crave? Chipotle burritos – with pinto beans, cilantro-lime rice and cheese. That’s all I ever wanted!

11. Who irritated you most? Hmm…anyone making noise when I or the girls I nannied were napping! Naps were like gold!

12. What was your first child’s sex? Boy!

13. How many pounds did you gain throughout your first pregnancy? 43 pounds. I’m not one to concern myself with weight gain if I know I’m eating well!

14. Did you have any complications during your pregnancy? No. I got my first cold sore which gave me a nasty virus, but it wasn’t considered a complication, really.

15. Where did you give birth? In Pearland, Texas (outside of Houston), in a birth center

16. How many hours were you in labor? Well, I didn’t sleep well the night before because of random contractions, but they weren’t consistent. That morning, my midwife stripped my membranes but I still wasn’t experiencing regular contractions. That night, they got intense but still pretty irregular, and then faded away. At 8pm, I laid down to rest and my water broke. The contractions became immediately regular – and then he was born at 12:57am – so basically, if you count from the time my contractions became regular and truly intense – 5 hours. If you count all of the weird, irregular contractions….a lot longer. But you see, those didn’t feel like labor. So I don’t count that part. 🙂

17. Who drove you to the hospital? Ryan drove me and my mom.

18. Who watched? Well, Ryan was behind me in the birthing tub, my midwife was there, and she eventually called an assistant. My mom was in the room, texting everyone to keep them updated, and my friend Jessica was at the birth center but stayed right outside of the room or in the doorway. Technically, nobody but my midwife “watched,” considering I was in the water and a flashlight was needed to actually see anything.

19. Was it vaginal or c-section? Vaginal

20. Did you take medicine to ease the pain? No – there was none available, which I’m grateful for! The warm water definitely helped to ease the pain, though.

21. How much did your baby weigh? 8 pounds, 2.5 ounces!

22. What did you name your first born baby? Jack Dempsey – and no, we didn’t name him after the boxer. We liked the name Jack and Dempsey is my grandfather’s first name.

23. How old is your baby today? He is almost 15 months old!
5 Comments

Filed under on being a mama, pregnancy

5 responses to “All About Jack

  1. Cool! I want to do this, too. I love hearing about people’s pregnancies and childbirths, but a lot of women think you are being nosy if you ask. (Not me though. I’ll talk somebody’s ear off about it!)

  2. Camille

    Our labors were a lot alike! I was in labor 5.5 hours total, 100% natural, Daniel was 13 days early, weighed 8 lbs, 2 oz! Can you imagine if we had been late…big babies!

  3. I’m so glad you decided to participate! I love reading about other people’s experiences. I’m looking forward to sharing about my other 2 births, too!

  4. Wait wait wait.. Pearland? I’m from ALVIN! Do you still live in that area? If you do, we SO have to get together! I live in NW Houston now. 🙂 Wow.. Im so excited that you delivered in Pearland.. makes me feel that the world is.. so so small.

  5. Hey Rissa!
    I loved reading about Jack’s birth. Patrick and I just had our first baby on August 20th. Her birth story was the opposite of Jack’s – wrought with problems. But it ended with a perfect little baby girl with a head full of hair and all of us crying at what a little miracle she is. And congratulations on the new little one on the way. That is so wonderful! My sister Alyssa is pregnant too. I’m so excited for you guys, and I’ll be praying that you have a healthy pregnancy, and a wonderfully healthy little baby.

Leave a Reply

