And so it begins…

…the journey through my second pregnancy, that is!

I’m feeling all right. I’m still majorly lacking sleep (exhausted during the day, can’t sleep at night, blah blah) and I still feel pretty dizzy fairly often. I have to pee every half hour and ever since Friday, I’ve noticed that I feel a bit sore when Jack nurses. I’ve also had random, quick bouts of slight nausea, but it’s nothing serious. Besides those things, I feel fine!

As if it were a surprise to any of you, I’m currently thinking a lot about food, and specifically, my more recent self-imposed diet restrictions. I’ve been reading in several pregnancy books about an ideal pregnancy “diet” (more like healthy eating habits). After my pregnancy with Jack, I promised myself that I’d never again eat so terribly while pregnant. I didn’t follow the books at all. I ate whatever the heck I wanted, and I paid for it (physically), too. I don’t want to do that again.

A strict vegan diet isn’t necessarily the best option for a growing baby. And although I’m conflicted because I’m afraid of another gallbladder attack, I’ve been weighing my options. Before I had my most recent attack, I’d eaten bacon several times, buttered my toast, and on the actual night of the attack, I ate gross, greasy carnitas enchiladas. Besides those decisions to eat things I knew weren’t good for me, I had been eating fairly well. No fried food, no greasy food, and low fat everything. All of my dairy was skim. I ate eggs on occasion, and really, the only meat I indulged in was skinless chicken breasts and sometimes, lean red meat.

That being said, I’ve been wondering if, now that I’ve “de-toxed,” I should slowly start incorporating chicken breast, whole eggs, and skim dairy. I want my baby to thrive, and I can guarantee that right now, I’m not consuming enough protein. While I could stuff myself with tofu, beans, lentils, grains, and nuts, I find that nothing really takes the place of a cup of yogurt or a plump chicken breast. I’m not talking taste – I’m talking about the way that I feel.

My solution is this: I’ve learned to eat very well while on this vegan diet. I want to continue to eat raw, fresh vegetables, nuts, beans, lentils, grains, and the occasional tofu dish. But, I also want to add into the mix a modest amount of low/non-fat dairy, eggs, and chicken. I plan to pay close attention to the way I feel, and if I start to feel uncomfortable, I’ll investigate.

I have gone back and forth with gluten – I think that ultimately, instead of going completely gluten-free, I am simply going to avoid wheat products, and when I have the option to buy something gluten-free as opposed to another brand, I’ll opt for gluten-free. I’ve been doing pretty well with sugar, and I plan to continue to avoid it, since sugar contains empty calories, and my baby needs good calories!

Besides that, I’ve been taking a prenatal vitamin since I was pregnant with Jack, and ever since he was born (because we’re still nursing). I also take a daily omega-3 fish oil supplement, as well as milk thistle, which is good for the liver (which is where gallstones come from, believe it or not). I’ve also committed myself to drinking pregnancy tea every day. And, lastly, Ryan and I have committed to walking 30 minutes, 6 times a week. So far, so good!

I want all of you to keep me accountable! Good health is the best gift I can give this baby, and I know I’m going to need encouragement! Sometimes, a girl just wants to eat 10 cookies!

That’s all for now. Just another post about food and stuff. šŸ™‚

2 Comments

Filed under eating food, pregnancy

2 responses to “And so it begins…

  1. faemom

    Good luck! But don’t get to strict. Your body will let you know if you need a few cookies, maybe not all ten.

  2. I hear you on 10 cookies. Sheesh… I don’t know how I’ll make it through another pregnancy without pepperoni pizza and oreos šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

