Tomato-Lentil Soup

This husband-approved (woohoo!) recipe is very similar to the Black Bean and Salsa soup recipe (also husband-approved!), in that it is delicious, inexpensive, and super easy to make. It’s also very convenient because many of the ingredients are often found in your pantry anyway. I may even like this more than the Black Bean and Salsa soup (dun-dun-dun)!

I found a similar recipe on a random blog (I can’t even remember where), and I altered the ingredients and amounts to fit our taste. Here’s the result:

1 can (14.5 oz?) Glen Muir fire-roasted crushed tomatoes (you can use normal crushed tomatoes, but I think the fire-roasted part gives this soup special flavor)
1 cup lentils (I use green, but brown would work!), rinsed and picked over (check for stones, dirt, and other random particles!)
1 brown onion, chopped
5 or 6 cloves of garlic, crushed (I use a lot because we looove our garlic!)
1ish tablespoon olive oil
4 cups vegetable broth
Red pepper flakes, according to desired spiciness level 🙂
Coarse salt and fresh ground pepper

Heat olive oil in a medium saucepan. Add onions, garlic, and generous amount of red pepper flakes. Saute, stirring constantly, until onion is softened (be sure that garlic does not burn), about 2 minutes or so. Add vegetable broth, tomatoes, lentils, salt and pepper. Simmer on medium heat until the lentils are soft and the soup is thick. Be sure the lentils are always covered by liquid – add more broth (or water) if necessary. I like to stir the soup every 10 minutes to make sure nothing builds up on the bottom of the pan. The stove-top process, from start to finish, should take about 30 minutes, and possibly more.

For some flavorful bread to eat alongside this amazing soup, try this:

1 Boboli Bread par-baked pizza crust, store-bought pizza dough, or homemade (gluten-free?) pizza dough
Olive oil
Dried oregano
Dried rosemary
Coarse salt and fresh ground pepper

Preheat oven to 450 degrees, if using Boboli Bread. If using dough, preheat oven to whatever temperature you usually do. Baste olive oil on surface of dough/bread (obviously, roll out dough if you’re using dough). Generously sprinkle with oregano, rosemary, salt, and pepper. Bake until golden brown. Cut into triangles and serve alongside a green salad and the Tomato-Lentil soup. This bread is insanely good for dipping!

For your own sake, you must try this recipe. You won’t regret it!! 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under eating food, homemaking, making food

2 responses to “Tomato-Lentil Soup

  1. I’ll have to try this one because I did the black bean and salsa one and we LOVED it. It wouldn’t all fit into my food processor (I have a little tiny one) so I did it in two shifts. It worked out great though. Suzi didn’t like it of course–she is so picky right now. At least that means next time I can use spicier salsa in it. I actually made Kristin’s (from Bits and Pieces) cheese muffins to go with it and she liked them.

  2. That sounds delicious and I very well may make it tomorrow (I do think I have all the ingredients! Woo hoo!).

Leave a Reply

