Ditch the Disposables

I just found out about a Ditch the Disposables Challenge (thanks, Jenny!) on Crunchy Domestic Goddess! I’m excited to participate in this challenge because actually, over the last couple of days, I’ve been wanting to replace paper towels with cloth rags for cleaning. We ran out of paper towels, and I desperately needed to clean the bathroom. I decided to go ahead and use a few hand towels and I was so happy with the results! When I read the post on CDG, it really encouraged me to make the change. I’m so happy with our cloth diapers and wipes and “lady” pads, I can only imagine how great it will feel to ditch those paper towels!

Personally, I feel called to reduce my usage of disposable products for a couple of reasons – first, because I believe we’re called to be good stewards of God’s creation, and we ought to do what we can to preserve the beauty He’s blessed us with, and second, because there is a ridiculous amount of risks associated with most disposable products. Participating in this challenge or simply “going green” or being “crunchy” should not be done for the sake of a trend or some new age philosophy. Do it for this beautiful earth that the Lord has placed us on, and do it for your health! Your checkbook will probably thank you, too! šŸ˜‰

2 Comments

Filed under homemaking, tea-timing

2 responses to “Ditch the Disposables

  1. It certainly is nice to go to the store and not have to buy a bunch of paper towels. A pack of them is around $10–ouch! We rarely buy them anymore anyway because I realized how insane it was to be paying for something so useless, but I’m excited to do away with them completely. Jordan sort of groaned when I told him but I think he’ll come around.

  2. Katie Riddle

    Good for you! Jenny is right, it’s a great way to save money, and since you’re already doing cloth diapers, it hopefully won’t feel like a huge transition. Just prepare yourself for looks of panic when you tell guests you don’t have paper towels when they ask for one. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

