Ratatouille with Polenta on Baby Greens

We’re at it again.

My parents’ friend, Karin, is in town from Vancouver. She’s a vegetarian, so my parents (and Ryan and I) now have two reasons to come up with vegetarian/vegan dishes that actually taste good. In search of a filling meal that would satisfy both vegetarians and carnivores alike, I decided to take a look at Karina’s Kitchen. A couple of nights ago, we made Roasted Vegetables with Brown Rice and Jalepeno & Lime Hummus. The vegetables looked beautiful, but unfortunately, we had a difficult time getting everything to cook evenly (the purple potatoes were still a bit hard, the red potatoes were really soft, and the green beans were kind of…leathery?). BUT, the idea was great. The hummus turned out lovely and we ate it to our hearts’ content.

Last night, though, we made something else. We made Ratatouille with Polenta on Baby Greens. A-MAY-ZING-AH. We doubled the recipe, and in one skillet, we used regular eggplant with zucchini and in the other skillet, we used Japanese eggplant with mushrooms. Both were fantastic. I love Karina.

Here’s the outcome:

Dinner is served!

Dinner is served!

This meal has no meat, no dairy, no eggs, no sugar, and no gluten. It’s perfect in every way. Throughout the entire meal, at least one of the five of us could be found declaring our love for this beautiful dish. I’m not kidding! You need to try it. Now. Check your cupboards and fridge, go to the store if necessary, and get cooking! You won’t regret it.

1 Comment

Filed under eating food, making food

One response to “Ratatouille with Polenta on Baby Greens

  1. Hey Rissa,
    I’ve been spending way too much time on here but it’s so hard to pull away. I have so been enjoying your writings! You are a wealth of resource and I’m so excited for you and your journey. It makes me tear up to hear you surrender so fully to God and His will for you. Also, I will be praying for you and your ‘diet’. I didn’t realize you had gall bladder issues. Good for you to make such a change. Must go for now and be productive and I’m sorry for the scatteredness I’ve had the kids coming in and out and ….. anyways. Love ya girl and hope to see you soon šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

