I Am (What He Says I Am)

I’ve decided to step up. I’ve found myself reading and rereading such passages as Proverbs 31, Titus 2:3-5, and James 3:17-18, to name a few, and all the while, I’ve been saying to myself and God, “I want to be that. Why can’t I be that? God, please make me like that!”

Now I see where I’ve been going wrong…I haven’t taken ownership of these things. I’ve been begging God (a God who, in fact, gives “liberally and without reproach” [see James 1:5]) to make me into an honorable wife, a loving mother, and a wise woman of God. I now see that instead, I can simply say, “I am clothed in strength and dignity, I am pure, I am self-controlled, I do love my husband and my son, and I have the wisdom that comes from heaven.” I can speak out those truths, believing in God’s power to make me into the woman he’s called me to be.

While reading a recent post at Mom and Us, I came across a website listed in one of the comments. The website is called The Generous Wife and on it, you can sign up for a daily “Generous Tip” email in which Lori will give you a tip on how to act lovingly and treat your husband – you guessed it – generously! I’ve only been signed up for a few days now, but I have to say that I’ve been greatly blessed by the results I’ve received when consciously treating my husband generously. Now that I’ve decided to step into my role as the wife God has called me to be, it’s wonderful to receive Godly advice regarding how I can honor Ryan in simple, day-to-day ways!

May you be blessed today. It’s a new day full of beautiful, new opportunities to discover more of God’s great plan for our lives. I don’t know about you, but I’m excited. 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under homemaking, on being a mama, tea-timing

One response to “I Am (What He Says I Am)

  1. That’s so good Rissa! I really enjoyed reading that post, it was short, but full of hope and excitement. Wonderful.

    I love how God brings you to a place where he speaks so gently, and he brings things to mind over time and as you dwell on them he reveals more and more of what his heart is for you.

    Thanks for sharing that with us!

Leave a Reply

