I Owe You

It’s time for a photo update! Enjoy!

 

"Sharing" coffee with Daddy

"Sharing" coffee with Daddy

 

 

Eating spaghetti is serious business, folks!

Eating spaghetti is serious business, folks!

 

 

Modeling his new gauze flat!

Modeling his new gauze flat!

 

 

I just couldn't resist a booty shot! (Don't mind the spots - we had a little calendula oil spill - bad rash day!)

I just couldn't resist a booty shot! (Don't mind the spots - we had a little calendula oil spill - bad rash day!)

 

 

Walking! There have been many attempts for the past couple of days. Oh boy!

Walking! There have been many attempts for the past couple of days. Oh boy!

 

 

)

Clapping for himself as he walks 🙂

 

Things have been good around here. We’ve been doing a lot of talking and praying about some specific things – things I can’t share at this point, but someday I will!

As far as my new “diet,” I’ve found it to be pretty difficult. I haven’t cheated, but I have to be very careful, because sometimes I feel so intimidated that I would almost rather not eat anything. Obviously, that’s not a good thing. The problem is, I don’t have the freedom to slowly ease into things – I have no choice but to dive head first into this thing. There is no transitional phase for me. I’ve been more lenient with gluten but that won’t give me an attack. I have switched over to rice milk and gluten-free (sugar-free, too) cereal, pancakes, pasta, and pasta sauce. I’ve had a few pieces of regular bread here and there because gluten-free bread seems to cost a fortune in my local grocery stores. I haven’t eaten ANY dairy, ANY meat, and I’ve only had egg whites a couple of times. I was beginning to feel deprived but yesterday, I found a GREAT recipe for a Vegan Mexican Style Quinoa Black Bean Salad! It was SO good. We ate it along with some corn tortilla chips (gluten-free!) and some salsa. Even for the dairy, egg, and meat eaters…this salad is good! It’s pretty and colorful, tasty, and easy to make. All in one! I like to keep my kitchen stocked with black beans and quinoa anyway, so it was easy to buy the few other ingredients needed. Even better, it gave me a great helping of grains, legumes, and vegetables.

Another quick thing – I plan to finally finish those cloth pads I talked about a while ago. I’ve perfected the design and I’m ready to finish up. Stay tuned for the giveaway – I’m going to need your feedback in order to create a quality product!

3 Comments

Filed under eating food, on being a mama

3 responses to “I Owe You

  1. I’ve been wanting to make cloth pads too. Not to sell, but just for me. I already bought some waterproof material but right now I have only a vague idea of how I’m going to go about making them.

    I already use the Diva Cup–have you tried it? I love it, but my period is bad enough that pads are still necessary for several days.

  2. I love the cloth booty shots, I think they’re incredibly adorable!

    Did you dye that flat?? Or did it come that color?

    Also, I’m so glad you didn’t buy gluten free bread. All the kinds I’ve tried from the store taste disgusting. So bad I can’t even get myself to eat it – I kid you not.

    If you have a bread maker, try Pamela’s wheat free bread mix it’s amazing. I have it in my Amazon store of course 🙂

    Since you’ve given up eggs too that really stumps me on recipes for you, but I’ll keep my eyes open for them for you!!

    I admire your diligence and fortitude. I have thought several times to kick sugar, with you as my inspiration.. only to decide I need a bowl of ice cream or a peach snapple or something. I am weak!

  3. P.S. – if you check out Pamela’s Wheat Free bread mix, the price of $23.85 is for a box of 6 bread mixes not just one mix, making the cost per loaf only $3.98.

Leave a Reply

