Celebrated.

Β 

Yesterday was very fun. My day started out a bit rocky. Let me share with you…

First, I awoke to the alarm beeping at 5:30am. Ryan had decided to (sigh) get to the mall by 6am to wait in line for our new phones. I sold my old one the day before and he sold his the day before that – and although I was actually somewhat enjoying a few phone-free hours, Ryan was practically having withdrawals. Anyway, I struggled to fall back asleep as he showered and dressed, but for some reason, I felt restless. Then, at a few minutes shy of 6am, Jack began to wake up. Ryan brought him in to me before he left and I nursed him in hopes that he’d give me one more hour of sleep – unfortunately, 10 minutes later, he was wide-eyed, jabbering away. I accepted the fact that there was no hope for more sleep and took him out to the living room. I began to check my email, read, and do other random things, but the morning was dragging by. I soon realized that Jack was in one of those “hold me or else” moods – and yeah, it lasted the whole morning. He fell asleep while nursing around 8am, so I laid him down in his bed and tried to get my stuff together – I was supposed to be at my mom’s at 9. Unfortunately, Jack woke up less than 20 minutes later, and from then until about 9:45, I did my best to shower, dress, load up clean clothes, my diaper bag, laundry, extra diapers for the whole day, and whatever other odds and ends while tending to a very cranky baby. I finally made it to my parents’ house by around 10:15. I still had to bake cookies and 2 separate cakes, as well as make two different types of frosting, help prepare the burgers, and get Jack nursed and down for a real nap. I managed to bake everything before he went down, but then I had to nurse him to sleep. As I nursed him, I suddenly began to dread the party. Why am I doing this again? Jack won’t notice anyway! I’m not sure why this happened – but I worked myself through it and realized that I really actually was looking forward to it. πŸ™‚

Whew! So that was my morning. Friends began to arrive, and as they did, my stress fizzled away. My mom got back from picking up some last minute items and she helped with the burgers and one of the frosting recipes. Ryan got there about 30 minutes late, but he arrived armed with two new phones! Wahoo!

Overall, the party was very fun. The kids enjoyed the pool, I enjoyed the AC inside, and Jack seemed to have fun eating his cake and later, playing with the presents I opened for him. πŸ™‚ Here are a few photos to give you a glimpse of our day…

Β 

"Want some?"

"Want some?"

Β 

I love this picture (don't worry, Jack didn't actually drink any of that beer)

I love this picture (don't worry, Jack didn't actually drink any of that beer)

Β 

Love him!

Love him!

Β 

)

The sugar-filled "crowd pleaser" cake πŸ™‚

Β 

)

Jack's cake πŸ™‚

There are more but I’m having a bit of trouble uploading. Hope these are good for now.

And, by the way, Jack took a step on Friday! Twice! Crazy kid!

3 Comments

Filed under laughter is good, on being a mama, photographs, things we celebrate

3 responses to “Celebrated.

  1. I’m glad it went well πŸ™‚

    I always stress before big get togethers. But afterwards I’m so happy to have had them!

  2. Ha ha! My parents taught Suzi to say “beer” this weekend.

    It looks like he had a great birthday! I was so stressed before Suzi’s birthday too–we way overdid it I think. Congratulations on those first steps! It’s so fun when they learn to walk.

  3. Lindsey

    Eli is officially a walker now! He didn’t crawl ONE time yesterday! It’s so weird! Jack will be walking VERY SOON if he’s already taking steps! Oh man…document the heck out of it πŸ™‚ And FYI…I felt the same way about Eli’s party about 2 hours before guests started getting here πŸ™‚ You are not alone! But, also was really thankful to have had it!

Leave a Reply

