About a Cake

We are having a little pool party to celebrate Jack’s first year of life this Saturday. I’m excited because it also feels like a party for Ryan and I – hey, we’ve been parents for a year! 🙂 I am looking forward to it for sure.

For a few months now, we have randomly chatted with many different people about Jack and his first birthday and how fast things have gone. Inevitably, we were asked, “Aren’t you excited to give him cake? He’s going to love it!”

Honestly, the first time someone asked, I hadn’t thought about cake quite yet, but I was glad they brought it to my attention. I started to consider the idea. Do I want him to have cake? Kinda. Do I like what’s in cake? Not really. Honestly, though, I have to admit that it’s fun to watch a toddler devour their first piece of cake! So…I began to search for a cake I could truly call “healthy.”

I considered carrot cake, but the fact remains that it’s loaded with sugar. Jack has never had refined sugar, and I don’t want to start him on it now. That’s just something that’s important to me. Banana bread? No….it still has a pretty significant amount of sugar. I started to think I’d just have to make a fruit pie without sugar. But then it didn’t seem worth the trouble. Would he even like it?

I was really grateful, however, when I received an email from Allie directing me to a mom’s discussion forum with a recipe for a sugarless banana cake!

Last night, I made it at my parents’ house, and I was really impressed! I figured there has to be somebody out there who would like the recipe, so here it is!

4 oz whole wheat flour (a little more than a half cup)
3 oz raisins
2 oz butter (or 4 tablespoons)
1/2 teaspoon mixed spice (that is, pumpkin pie spice)
8 oz very ripe bananas (two regular sized bananas), mashed
1 egg, beaten

Preheat oven to 325.

Mix the spice into the flour. Rub butter into the flour with a fork; add the raisins. Then mix in the mashed bananas and the egg.

Butter the tin (you can use a loaf tin, a round cake tin, or even a cupcake tin). Pour in the mix and bake, checking every 15 minutes, until a fork comes out clean.

I left out the raisins because I wasn’t sure if Jack would realize he needed to chew them. I used whole wheat flour but I plan to use whole grain spelt flour next time, and I may add the raisins. It was really good! Obviously, it’s not sweet like a cake, but for a baby who doesn’t know the difference, it’s perfect! He loved it! It’s also very tasty with some butter on it and a cup of coffee.

At the bottom of the recipe, they suggest using cream cheese and fruit puree to make a “frosting,” and I haven’t tried it yet but it sounds yummy.

I’m not sure where this recipe comes from, so I can’t really give credit. But it’s good!

3 Comments

Filed under eating food, on being a mama, things we celebrate

3 responses to “About a Cake

  1. I love that you are going to be sugar-free with your little one! How is it going so far? I can’t wait to try the above banana cake recipe…I might even add it to my list of recipes on: myyearwithout.blogspot.com. I have been going without refined sugar since Jan. 1, 2008 and what a great year it has been so far. I crave new recipes and I LOVE meeting other people who have similar plights. I just briefly perused your site, but can’t wait to read more. I like what you’re doing and why you’re doing it. My husband and I are trying to live simply, as well.

    By the way, did you see the documentary called “The Business of Being Born”? It sounds like from what i’ve read so far, it would be right up your alley. We really enjoyed it…..

    Thanks!!

  2. Pingback: Sugar. « Mama Rissa’s Corner

  3. Pingback: Celebrated. « Mama Rissa’s Corner

Leave a Reply

