Clearing Things Up

From the looks of it, I need to clear a few things up regarding my previous post.

Interestingly, my less-than-perfect past was brought into the picture in one of my reader’s comments. The honest truth is, yes, I used to be a difficult, rebellious, headstrong little girl. I must own that. It is unfortunate, however, that a bit of my past (a past that has, in fact, been forgiven by my Loving Father) was laid out for all to see (read). I would like to say now that personally, I feel that those kinds of comments should be saved for private emails. This is a public blog and I think that I should have the right to reveal those things about my own self when and if I feel it is appropriate.
As my readers know, I use my blog to process through many things. I love to write. Sometimes, I just need to write my thoughts. Other times, I ask specific questions. Occasionally, I like to share a recipe or a bit of good advice I’ve received. Blogging has become a great outlet for me, and I definitely appreciate receiving constructive comments when my readers have thoughts on something I’ve written about.
I need clarify exactly what I meant to communicate in my previous post. Above all else, I am concerned that, in the church as a whole, there seems to be a lack of older women who are willing to teach the younger women the things Paul writes about Titus 2. This concern has given me the desire to become one of those older women someday. For now, I am a younger woman, and I have been so fortunate as to have my mother, my aunt, and several women who are older than me but not necessarily classified as “older women” (if that makes sense) come alongside me and model godly examples.
This post was not meant to communicate that I was complaining about the lack of older women in my life. I am very happy with the counsel I am receiving from my family and close women friends. I did not communicate that effectively. It appears that my post may have hurt some feelings, and honestly, it was not in my heart to do so. It wasn’t a personal attack on any one person – nor was it meant to downplay the counsel I have received thus far in my life. It truly was a simple concern regarding the church as a whole in this day and age. 
I know I’ve been writing about my goal to quit explaining myself to everyone, but I felt that this needed to be straightened out. I’m sure you understand!
Please forgive me for not thoroughly communicating what I meant. Hopefully it’s a bit clearer now!
2 Comments

Filed under tea-timing

2 responses to “Clearing Things Up

  1. Katie

    Isn’t it great that by the work of Christ we can look back and say “Yep, that was the past!” And it holds no bearing on our identity now? 🙂

    You’re the picture of Godly womanliness if you ask me Rissa, and since you weren’t.. I’ll just put it out there anyway 😉

    And I’m sure you weren’t half as difficult or rebellious as I was. But as I said, thank God that’s not any part of who we are now! 🙂

  2. LaPilvia

    Well, I must agree with what Katie said. We all make mistakes, nevertheless they made us become the kind of persons we are, on the way to who whe want to become.
    So there’s no use in denial… if our Lord forgives us, why can’t we just forgive ourselves? ^^

Leave a Reply

