Strength, Dignity, Wisdom, and Faithful Instruction

When I sit down to read the Bible, I almost always find myself going back to Proverbs 31:10-31 at some point during my reading. I am constantly rereading this passage and asking the Lord to show me how to be a woman that honors him. One thing has always, always stuck out to me:

31:25-26 – She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come. She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue.

That’s who I want to be. Of course, the entire passage stirs my heart and challenges me to grow. I want to be all of it! But there’s something about those verses that catches me and I just hope that I can be that kind of woman. Oh, to be clothed with strength and dignity! To laugh at the days to come – to not worry, to not be anxious or fret about plans. I long to speak with wisdom; I want to speak with faithful instruction. I want to bless those around me – to exude love and mercy and strength of character.
Also, when recently considering Titus 2:3-5, I was struck by something. Where are the older women?ย The only people I can recall that have truly sought me out, to walk alongside me and help me learn to do the things Paul speaks of in this passage, are my mother and my aunt. While I appreciate them and what they’ve done, I’m a bit confused. I’ve grown up in the church. Why have I not seen this being modeled more? I’m a bit troubled by it – but my point, really, is that it’s made me realize that I want to strive to become that kind of woman when I am older. I want to spend my life learning to be a good wife, mother, and keeper of the home – all the while, helping to train up other wives, mothers, and keepers of the home.
I have quite a few things rolling around in my brain right now and I’m hoping that this post made at least a little bit of sense!
I need to go rock a baby to sleep. ๐Ÿ™‚
4 Comments

Filed under tea-timing

4 responses to “Strength, Dignity, Wisdom, and Faithful Instruction

  1. Darlene Sinclair

    I am so excited — thrilled, really — to read about your desire to grow into one of those Godly older women that Paul commended to Titus! God is looking for such faithful women, and, as you noted, they are not common. I suppose that is why your favorite passage says that they are more valuable than rubies; they are so very rare! So be assured, you desire a valuable and highly esteemed calling when you set your sights on becoming a Titus 2 woman! May God bless your every step along the way!

  2. birthhappy

    I have been blessed to have several women be the “older woman” for me. And oddly, even though I am only 31, I find myself starting to be the “older woman” occasionally. I read Titus 2 all the time to try to reasses the way I am spending my time and energy and if I am meeting the goals God has set out for me. It usually re-excites me. I have gotten the impression from reading your blog lately that you really want to have a large family and even want to be pregnant right now. I have had five kids in the 8 years we have been married and I have a suggestion. I LOVE my big family and being a wife and mom, but honestly, I am overwhelmed. There are several things I really wish I had worked on before I had so many little ones that I can hardly formulate a complete thought. Like, do you plan to make your own bread? Start now! (I learned at http://www.urbanhomemaker.com) And how do you pressure can garden things? For that matter, how do you garden? ๐Ÿ™‚ And how can you cook healthy, cheap, yummy meals quickly and for a big family? Things like dinner, that I could just sort of wing when I had one baby, now cause a lot of stress with so many. I never kept to a schedule, I didn’t plan menus and grocery lists very well, I didn’t stick to any kind of chore schedule. Now that I suddenly find myself trying to homeschool and nurse and cook and clean after five people, I am having to figure out how to do all that. It usually takes me 3 hours(!!!) to make a grocery list. I’m organizationally challenged and very flibberty-gibbety, so this is really hard to learn in action. My second suggestion would be to start right now teaching your baby to keep his voice down, to clean up his own toys, and to follow you around while you work, helping however he can. THE most stressful thing for me is all the noise. Now that I’m here, I don’t know how to untrain the loudness, but I think I could have, one by one, taught them not to be loud. Also, it is really fun to work together, but it is easier to teach one young child a job at a time, than five. Read how other mom’s of big families run their home and see what you like about it, what resonates with who you are. Implement as much of it now as you can. Train your baby gently to come and sit and stop and what “no” means as soon as you can. You may find that when you are pregnant or nursing another, it is a huge blessing to be able to get obedience from a few little commands. I just mean to use this easier time to establish your future habits. I gotta run and save the toddler, but I hope I haven’t given a bad impression. I LOVE being a mom to this crew, I just wish I had known how to prepare myself better.

  3. Katie

    well, I’m a few years older than you and suggested sprout sandwiches.. does that count? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I know what you mean though. I have a mentor at my church whom I dearly love and am soooo thankful for because she encourages me towards who I am in Christ.

    Aside from her… sometimes I find myself sort of floundering and wondering what to do. That was one reason why I was so excited about momandus.com For that guidance, encouragement, and training.

    There are a lot of women I want to go up to and say “Hey! Teach me!! I’m here and ready to learn!!” but I sort of feel like it should be a… take me under their wing sort of thing. Or maybe some sort of more official ministry of the church or something.

  4. Ruthola

    Your friend Katie said she feels like saying, “Hey! Teach me, I am ready to learn”, and that is actually a great idea. I AM one of the older women in your life, and I have cared about you and prayed for you since you were a headstrong little girl. In your teens there was no way you would have let anybody take you under their wing, so it amazes me to hear you want that now as a young mom. Must be God at work! Since I am someone who raised and homeschooled four boys and still managed to write for publication, do artwork, and sew clothes and quilts, I could actually come alongside you if you welcomed me. I have made tentative attempts, and while you have not overtly rebuffed them, you have not necessarily received them either.So you have to give us older women in your life a break by a little verbal input. It is also possible that you need some women in your new church to step up, and I would completely understand. You have seen firsthand and know personally the results of my mothering years. I like to think of my 4J’s as my resume! I am right here, about a mile away. Give me a call sometime.

Leave a Reply

