Owning Up

I’m owning up to the fact that I have not been utilizing the skills I’ve been blessed with. Does that sound strange? I’m sitting here on my couch, watching Jack play as I surf the ‘net. It’s dawning on me, as it has many times in the last week, that I’m letting many of my God-given talents lay dormant inside me. What am I thinking?

I’m tired of it. I’m tired of feeling “bored.” I’m tired of feeling useless. That’s another story in and of itself, anyway. I mean, useless? I’m raising a child, for goodness’ sake! I’m taking care of a home! My mom read an article recently that actually summed up how much the average housewife/mother “makes” per year – $117,000! Throw in some homeschooling and homemade meals and keeping a garden, and I bet it adds to even more. I mean, that’s just the average! So, not useless. But do you know what I mean?
Now, I won’t refuse to take any credit. I have been venturing far deeper into the world of sewing than I ever have before. I’ve at least been thinking (which is the first step!) about all this stuff for a while now! I’ve made some progress. But I feel a stirring. I’m going to see where this takes me. I’m ready to write, to paint, to sew, to do whatever I’m supposed to do. I’m praying for revelation….”God, where can I serve? Where can my talents be used? Where am I needed?”
That’s all for now – a certain baby wants to get out of his high chair. “Cheerios are so yesterday, Mom!”
Leave a comment

Filed under creating things, tea-timing

Leave a Reply

