Sun…burned…

Well, hello there. Let me start off by saying that life, on the whole, is pretty good right now. Honestly, things are going well and I feel myself changing and growing almost daily. I’d LIKE to write a happy post about how all is well with my world —- but I can’t. Why? Because I have the worst sunburn in the world, thus all is tainted by my feelings of pain, discomfort, regret and embarrassment!

What makes this whole sunburn thing even worse is that I KNOW better. So I feel like a complete goof. Yes, I am a native Californian, yes, I know that when it’s windy, you get tricked into thinking your skin isn’t catching the sun, NO, I was not wearing sunscreen. Blah, blah, blah. My legs, feet, chest, arms and upper back are glowing red. It’s so painful that I have to take Tylenol. Laying down hurts. Walking hurts. It really is terrible.

The problem is that I’m truly feeling so ridiculous. I could have completely prevented it. So I’m learning my lesson, and I think it’s safe to say that this will never, EVER happen again. Oh, and in case you’re wondering, I had Jack completely slathered in 55 SPF AND he had an SPF sunhat on and he napped covered in a towel underneath an umbrella. So he’s fine.

Despite my gloomy, uncomfortable mood, as I wrote the above, I decided I will talk about some of the good things. I’m no pessimist – I’m just in a lot of pain!!!

First off…I think Jack’s sleeping schedule has taken a turn for the better. Considering he quit sleeping through the night cold turkey at the end of November, I am truly rejoicing. The past four months have been very trying. He’s woken up at all hours of the night, hungry as can be. When I’d put him in bed with me (which I did as soon as he awoke for the first time each night), he’d nurse, but then just thrash, wriggle, pinch and kick all night long. It was exhausting. But, as of last week, I began to feed him regular food more consistently because he was showing a sudden, major interest. Since then, each night he has gradually increased his sleeping time all on his own! Thank you, Jesus! He still wakes up around 10:30 (we’ve sort of conditioned him to do that as a result of staying at my parents’ house late and then waking him up to come home), but I just nurse him in the rocking chair and he goes back to sleep immediately. The first few nights he slept till 3 or 4. Then he slept till 6. Then 5:30. Then 7. And here we are today, with a happy baby and two well-slept parents (however uncomfortably sunburned mama is :). So I’ve been praying that this will continue. Does it have anything to do with the food? Anyone?

My second (and final for today, I’ve decided) thing to report I’d that I’ve finally gotten back on track with reading my Bible and journaling each day. I’ve been struggling to get my days in order lately, and I’ve found that quiet time with the Lord always makes for a more peaceful day for me, truly regardless of what happens. I’ve really been enjoying my times of prayer and reflection. I already feel like God has been speaking so many words of peace and comfort to my heart.

That being said, I’d like to share something I read in Psalms yesterday. It is something I’ve decided to start praying over the people God’s placed on my heart. I find it to be a sweet, uplifting prayer. It really gives me joy…

Psalm 4:11-12

But let all who take refuge in you be glad;
let them ever sing for joy.
Spread your protection over them,
that those who love your name may
rejoice in you.
For surely, O Lord, you bless the righteous;
you surround them with your favor as
with a shield.

2 Comments

Filed under Jack, tea-timing

2 responses to “Sun…burned…

  1. Lindsey Elizabeth Burke

    Yes, food for Jack. That could very well be the issue. When Eli started doing what Jack was doing I started feeding him ‘solid’ food 3 times a day and sometimes a snack in the middle of the afternoon (cantelope, watermelon…etc). And he slept. He was hungry! So, maybe that’s what it is with Jack! It’s all really trial and error! Aww, I will pray that Jack starts sleeping through the night!

  2. Katie

    He’s 8 months now right? That’s when I stopped exclusively nursing Nora, because she started waking through the night again. I wonder if 8 months is a growth spurt time?

    Sorry you’re sunburned.. as a fair skinned, Irish Lass I totally feel your pain!

Leave a Reply

