Today.

I’ve discovered something about myself. I don’t live in today. I live in tomorrow, and the day after that, and the week after that, and the month after that, and the year after that. I focus on all the things I still haven’t mastered. I focus on my shortcomings as a wife, a mother, and a friend and feel hopeless because I will never be as good as I want to be. I worry that God may not choose to give us the many children we long for, I worry that I will never master the art of keeping my home. I worry that I will never become that patient, calm, under control woman that I want to be. I think about what I’ll wear tomorrow. I think about how much money we may or may not have next month. I worry about raising Jack to be a strong, loving follower of Jesus. I worry that I’ll fail. I worry that I won’t measure up – that I won’t be acceptable to God, to family, to friends.

But, I’ve made a decision. I’ve decided to live in today. Today, I will love as I’ve been commanded to love. Today, I will clean my house and tidy things up with a servant’s heart. Today, I will be a kind, loyal, supportive wife and a patient mother. Today, I will do my best to treat others the way that I want to be treated. Today, I will utilize my skills as they apply to the tasks that need to be completed. I will seek the Lord and his will for each situation that arises, and I will trust him to take care of me. Today, I will live in today. I will trust the Lord to take care of tomorrow.

1 Comment

Filed under tea-timing

One response to “Today.

  1. Katie

    What a good post Rissa. It really hits home. I think everyone can relate, at least in some point in their life at the very least. We all tend to get caught up in the different worries tomorrow brings. But what a good reminder to live in the now, because tomorrow we can’t get today’s time back. I love it!

Leave a Reply

