Gettin’ My Craft Thang On

I’m so excited.

I’ve dreamed of my “craftier self” for so long. I’ve known how to crochet for quite a few years, and as a child, my mom often involved me in sewing projects. I’ve always loved to paint and draw, and I’ve generally just gravitated toward artsy things. However, in the past few years, I’ve felt like my crafty artsy side no longer had any room to shine. With working full time, then getting married, then having a baby, I never seemed to have any free time (by the way, whoever came up with the phrase “free time”….? I’ve never heard of such a thing as truly free time. Pish posh is what I say!).

Anyway, I think the Lord’s been making some changes in my heart lately. I’ll call it “rearranging furniture.” He’s sort of moving around my things (priorities), getting rid of some of the old stuff and replacing it with stuff that fits better and is more pleasing to look at. πŸ™‚ As a result, I feel a tug at my heart to let out my creative energy (among other things!). What a release I feel! It’s been wonderful.

This past week, I sewed a fun blanket for my dear friend Allie’s baby shower. I was pleasantly surprised at the outcome, considering it was my first sewing project in YEARS! Wahoo!

I don’t have a photo of the blanket yet, but I’ll get one and I’ll try to load it!

Then, on Sunday, my mom showed me this GREAT book she bought on embroidery (Doodle Stitching: Fresh & Fun Embroidery for Beginners by Aimee Ray). On a whim, I got out her supplies and learned to embroider!! My dad saw what I was doing and asked me to embroider a dragon on the back of his Lucky jeans (near where his heel is). I told him I couldn’t do a dragon but I saw this koi fish in the embroidery book (he likes asian artwork). It turns out that the “legend” is that koi fish have to swim up a waterfall and if they make it to the top, they become dragons. So, I embroidered a koi fish on his pants! It turned out pretty cool. πŸ™‚

Finally, today I sewed Jack an alphabet book. It isn’t SO amazing of me because it was actually one of those patterns where it’s all there on the fabric and they just tell you how to cut it out, what size to make the batting, how to sew it, and how it fits together. But STILL! I did it, all by myself, and I even embroidered “Jack” on the for: line and “Mama” on the by: line. I feel proud!

I’d post a photo but I tried and the site won’t let me load it for some reason…hmm.

For a while now, it’s been on my heart to make things so that I could save money on things we need (or want πŸ™‚ in our house and gifts for other people. I finally see it as a reality and I’m thrilled about it. Now I just need to make curtains for our windows, a shower curtain, some long skirts for myself, and…well, we’ll see!

2 Comments

Filed under creating things

2 responses to “Gettin’ My Craft Thang On

  1. Katie

    pictures! pictures!

    and if you find a good skirt pattern PLEASE let me know!

  2. BJ

    oh yay! I’ve been getting more crafty lately too and feeling so refreshed for it. πŸ™‚ It’s funny how sprinkling life with a little craftiness is so fulfilling. I love that you’re stirred this way too, yay for creativity!!!
    -B Soukup

Leave a Reply

